Skip to content
UtilityRateWatch

Duke Energy Indiana rate increase

Electric · Indiana · Investor-owned utility · part of Duke Energy Corporation

In effect

Last checked

Duke Energy Indiana's latest approved rate change took effect April 2026: Cayuga gas plant Generation Cost Tracker (charges from April 2026). See the details below for what the sources say about bill impacts.

Details and sources

Rate changes, newest first

Cayuga gas plant Generation Cost Tracker (charges from April 2026)

Rider · Electric

In effect

Typical residential bill

Not stated for a specific usage level. Any figures the sources give are in the summary below.

Filed
February 13, 2025
Decided
October 29, 2025
Effective
April 2026
Requested increase
Not disclosed
Approved increase
Not disclosed
Docket
Cause No. 46193

In October 2025 the IURC approved Duke Energy Indiana's plan to build two gas-fired combined-cycle units at Cayuga (about $3.3 billion) and to collect construction costs through a new Generation Cost Tracker. Tracker charges began in April 2026. Duke estimates an average cumulative retail rate impact of about 5.6% from April 2026 through May 2031. An appeal is at the Indiana Supreme Court.

Utility's stated reasons

  • replace aging Cayuga coal units
  • add about 471 MW of capacity for a growing customer base
  • avoid coal-unit maintenance and environmental compliance costs
Sources (3) · Verified against regulator or utility filings

Last verified Sep 29, 2026

2024 base rate case (two steps: Feb 2025 and early 2026)

Base rate case · Electric

In effect

Typical residential bill

Not stated for a specific usage level. Any figures the sources give are in the summary below.

Filed
April 4, 2024
Decided
January 29, 2025
Effective
February 27, 2025
Requested increase
$491.5 million
Approved increase
$296 million
Docket
Cause No. 46038

Duke Energy Indiana asked in April 2024 for about $491.5 million more per year. The IURC's January 2025 order authorized about $296 million (9.75% ROE) in two steps: rates from February 27, 2025, and a Step 2 filing approved February 25, 2026. The Consumer Counselor (OUCC) has appealed Step 2 to the full commission, arguing Duke is collecting more than the order allowed.

Utility's stated reasons

  • $1.6 billion invested since the 2019 rate case
  • grid hardening and new power lines
  • coal ash and other environmental compliance
  • physical security and customer systems
Sources (5) · Verified against regulator or utility filings

Last verified Sep 29, 2026

Who decides

  • Indiana Utility Regulatory Commission (Indiana)

Utility website: www.duke-energy.com

Last checked Oct 2, 2026. Spotted something out of date? Tell us.