Skip to content
UtilityRateWatch

Eversource Connecticut rate increase

Electric · Connecticut · Investor-owned utility · part of Eversource Energy

Proposed

Last checked

Eversource Connecticut has a request pending with regulators: 2026 distribution rate case with proposed 4-year performance-based plan, seeking $451 million. See the details below for what the sources say about bill impacts.

Details and sources · Estimate for your home

Rate changes, newest first

2026 distribution rate case with proposed 4-year performance-based plan

Base rate case · Electric

Proposed

Typical residential bill

Not stated for a specific usage level. Any figures the sources give are in the summary below.

Filed
July 14, 2026
Decision expected
June 29, 2027
Requested effective
July 1, 2027
Requested increase
$451 million
Approved increase
Pending
Docket
Not disclosed

CL&P filed its first distribution (delivery) rate case since 2017/2018 on July 14, 2026, asking for about $451 million a year excluding past storm costs, or about $727 million including them, at a 10.25% ROE, with a 4-year performance-based plan from July 2027. The Attorney General says residential rates would rise 11%, or 18% with storm costs. A decision is expected by June 29, 2027.

Utility's stated reasons

  • grid investments made since 2017 not yet in rates
  • higher operating and tree-trimming costs
  • storm restoration costs
  • accelerated smart meter (AMI) rollout
Sources (4) · Verified against regulator or utility filings

Last verified Sep 29, 2026

2018-2023 storm cost prudence review and securitization (Docket 25-12-13)

Rider · Electric

Partially approved

Typical residential bill

Not stated for a specific usage level. Any figures the sources give are in the summary below.

Filed
Not disclosed
Decided
July 29, 2026
Effective
Not disclosed
Requested increase
Not disclosed
Approved increase
Not disclosed
Docket
25-12-13

CL&P sought $974.2 million of 2018-2023 storm costs plus $397 million of carrying costs. On July 29, 2026, PURA approved $869.4 million as prudent, deferred review of $63.3 million and denied past carrying costs. About $667.9 million is left for possible securitization, which PURA is reviewing separately; the bill impact is not yet set.

Utility's stated reasons

  • restoration after 2018-2023 catastrophic storms
Sources (2) · Verified against regulator or utility filings

Last verified Sep 29, 2026

May 2026 Rate Adjustment Mechanism (public benefits, transmission, delivery trackers)

Rider · Electric

In effect

Typical residential bill (700 kWh/month)

  • −$31.00/mostarting May 1, 2026 (−15%)Consumer Counsel's estimate (about $31, about 4.4 cents/kWh, roughly 15% of the total bill). PURA's release says 4.3 cents/kWh, about $30. Includes a +$100M storm charge (~$3.50/month).
Filed
Not disclosed
Decided
April 22, 2026
Effective
May 1, 2026
Requested increase
Not disclosed
Approved increase
Not disclosed
Docket
26-01-03

PURA's interim decision reset six CL&P charges (public benefits, transmission and delivery trackers) for May 2026 to April 2027. Lower public-benefits costs, mainly credits from the Millstone and Seabrook nuclear contracts and state bonding, cut residential rates by about 4.3 cents/kWh (about $30 a month per PURA). It also added $100 million of storm-cost recovery.

Utility's stated reasons

  • nuclear contract (Millstone/Seabrook) credits
  • state bond funding of public-benefit programs
  • lower hardship and arrearage costs
Sources (4) · Verified against regulator or utility filings

Last verified Sep 29, 2026

2026 standard service (default supply) rate changes

Fuel / purchased power · Electric

In effect

Typical residential bill (700 kWh/month)

  • +$20.00/mostarting January 1, 2026OCC estimate (about $20). Supply rate 9.748 to 12.64 cents/kWh; per-kWh change computed from those two figures.
  • −$7.00/mothen from July 1, 2026OCC estimate (about $7 less). Supply rate 12.64 to 11.58 cents/kWh (approved by PURA 2026-05-20); per-kWh change computed from those two figures.

Combined: +$13.00/mo

Filed
Not disclosed
Decision expected
—
Effective
January 1, 2026
Requested increase
Not disclosed
Approved increase
Not disclosed
Docket
Not disclosed

Standard service is the default supply price for CL&P customers without a third-party supplier; it resets each January and July. It rose from 9.748 to 12.64 cents/kWh on Jan. 1, 2026 (about +$20 a month at 700 kWh, per the Consumer Counsel) and fell to 11.58 cents on July 1, 2026 (about -$7). Delivery charges are not affected.

Utility's stated reasons

  • winter natural gas and wholesale power prices
  • higher supply prices linked to the Iran war
Sources (3) · Based on news or utility announcements

Last verified Sep 29, 2026

What it could mean for your bill

Sources state the impact for one typical home. Enter your own usage or bill for a rough estimate.

I know my
kWh/month

Enter a number to see a rough estimate for your home.

Who decides

  • Connecticut Public Utilities Regulatory Authority (Connecticut) · Search dockets

Utility website: www.eversource.com

Last checked Oct 2, 2026. Spotted something out of date? Tell us.