Skip to content
UtilityRateWatch

Georgia Power rate increase

Electric · Georgia · Investor-owned utility · part of Southern Company

In effect

Last checked

Georgia Power's latest approved rate change took effect June 1, 2026: 2026 fuel and storm cost recovery (Georgia), which lowered a typical 1,000 kWh monthly bill by about $4.03.

Details and sources · Estimate for your home

Rate changes, newest first

2026 fuel and storm cost recovery (Georgia)

Fuel / purchased power · Electric

In effect

Typical residential bill (1,000 kWh/month)

  • −$4.03/mostarting June 1, 2026Combined effect of the fuel and storm cases per the PSC; Georgia Power states $4.04
Filed
February 17, 2026
Decided
May 28, 2026
Effective
June 1, 2026
Requested increase
Not disclosed
Approved increase
Not disclosed

Georgia Power filed fuel and storm cases together, citing a $912 million storm reserve shortfall (mostly Hurricane Helene) and lower fuel costs. A staff settlement the PSC approved on May 28, 2026 cut the storm revenue requirement from $270 million to $109 million and $13 million from fuel, for a net bill decrease of about $4.03/month from June 2026.

Utility's stated reasons

  • lower fuel costs
  • Hurricane Helene and other storm restoration costs
Sources (5) · Verified against regulator or utility filings

Last verified Sep 29, 2026

Base rate freeze through 2028 (Georgia)

Multi-year rate plan · Electric

Approved

Typical residential bill

Not stated for a specific usage level. Any figures the sources give are in the summary below.

Filed
May 2025
Decided
July 1, 2025
Effective
Not disclosed
Requested increase
Not disclosed
Approved increase
Not disclosed
Docket
44280

Instead of filing an expected 2025 rate case, Georgia Power agreed with PSC staff in May 2025 to keep base rates at current levels for at least three years. The PSC approved the freeze unanimously on July 1, 2025. Fuel and storm cost recovery were excluded and handled in separate 2026 cases.

Sources (3) · Verified against regulator or utility filings

Last verified Sep 29, 2026

What it could mean for your bill

Sources state the impact for one typical home. Enter your own usage or bill for a rough estimate.

For: 2026 fuel and storm cost recovery (Georgia) (in effect)

I know my
kWh/month

Enter a number to see a rough estimate for your home.

Who decides

Utility website: www.georgiapower.com

Last checked Oct 2, 2026. Spotted something out of date? Tell us.