Skip to content
UtilityRateWatch

ComEd rate increase

Electric · Illinois · Investor-owned utility · part of Exelon Corporation

Proposed

Last checked

ComEd has a request pending with regulators: 2028-2031 multi-year grid plan (delivery charges). See the details below for what the sources say about bill impacts.

Details and sources

Rate changes, newest first

2028-2031 multi-year grid plan (delivery charges)

Multi-year rate plan · Electric

Proposed

Typical residential bill

Not stated for a specific usage level. Any figures the sources give are in the summary below.

Filed
January 16, 2026
Decision expected
December 15, 2026
Requested effective
2028
Requested increase
Not disclosed
Approved increase
Pending
Docket
26-0047

ComEd asked the ICC to approve a $15.3 billion plan for delivery-system investments in 2028-2031. The plan does not set rates; ComEd estimates it would raise the average residential monthly bill by about $2.50-$3.00 per year starting in 2028, with a separate rate filing planned for January 2027. An ICC order is due by Dec. 15, 2026.

Utility's stated reasons

  • load growth from data centers, EVs and electrification
  • faster solar and wind interconnection
  • reliability amid more extreme weather
Sources (4) · Verified against regulator or utility filings

Last verified Sep 29, 2026

2025 cost reconciliation, sets 2027 delivery charges

Other · Electric

Proposed

Typical residential bill

Not stated for a specific usage level. Any figures the sources give are in the summary below.

Filed
May 1, 2026
Decision expected
December 2026
Requested effective
January 2027
Requested increase
$234.3 million
Approved increase
Pending
Docket
26-0215

ComEd seeks $234.3 million to true up actual 2025 delivery costs against its approved rate plan. ComEd says this would still lower average residential charges by about $0.13/month in 2027 versus 2026; combined with a $128 million refund of 2025 over-collections (approved July 2026), the average bill would drop about $1.22/month in 2027.

Utility's stated reasons

  • actual 2025 grid operating and capital costs above the approved plan
  • customer-driven projects
  • state-mandated programs such as beneficial electrification
Sources (3) · Verified against regulator or utility filings

Last verified Sep 29, 2026

June 2026 supply price change from PJM capacity costs (supply charges)

Fuel / purchased power · Electric

In effect

Typical residential bill

Not stated for a specific usage level. Any figures the sources give are in the summary below.

Filed
Not disclosed
Decision expected
—
Effective
June 1, 2026
Requested increase
Not disclosed
Approved increase
Not disclosed
Docket
Not disclosed

This affects the supply part of the bill for customers on ComEd's default supply, not delivery charges. ComEd said higher PJM capacity auction costs would raise the average residential bill by about $2 to $3 a month starting June 1, 2026. The summer 2026 Price to Compare is 10.399 cents/kWh (8.677 cents supply plus 1.722 cents transmission).

Utility's stated reasons

  • higher PJM capacity auction prices
  • demand growing faster than available generation
Sources (3) · Based on news or utility announcements

Last verified Sep 29, 2026

2024 cost reconciliation, sets 2026 delivery charges

Other · Electric

In effect

Typical residential bill

Not stated for a specific usage level. Any figures the sources give are in the summary below.

Filed
2025
Decided
December 18, 2025
Effective
January 2026
Requested increase
$268.5 million
Approved increase
$243 million
Docket
25-0383

The ICC approved about $243 million of ComEd's $268.5 million request to true up 2024 delivery costs, striking $25.4 million, mainly overrun costs from the 2024 billing-system rollout. CUB says about $200 million of the request reflected previously approved increases not yet in rates. The resulting delivery charges took effect January 2026.

Utility's stated reasons

  • 2024 spending above the approved grid plan budget
  • rate increases approved earlier but not yet billed
Sources (4) · Verified against regulator or utility filings

Last verified Sep 29, 2026

2024-2027 multi-year rate plan and refiled grid plan (delivery charges)

Multi-year rate plan · Electric

In effect

Typical residential bill

Not stated for a specific usage level. Any figures the sources give are in the summary below.

Filed
January 17, 2023
Decided
December 19, 2024
Effective
January 1, 2025
Requested increase
Not disclosed
Approved increase
$606 million

After rejecting ComEd's first grid plan, the ICC on Dec. 19, 2024 approved a refiled 2024-2027 plan with $1.5 billion of investments (about 25% below the $2.0 billion proposed) and an overall increase of $606 million over four years, 11% below the request. ComEd estimated average residential bills rise about $1.84/month each year from 2025 through 2027.

Utility's stated reasons

  • grid reliability
  • support electrification and state clean energy goals
  • connect new customers
Sources (3) · Verified against regulator or utility filings

Last verified Sep 29, 2026

Who decides

Utility website: www.comed.com

Other utilities nearby

Last checked Oct 2, 2026. Spotted something out of date? Tell us.