Skip to content
UtilityRateWatch

Dominion Energy South Carolina rate increase

Electric & gas · South Carolina · Investor-owned utility · part of Dominion Energy, Inc.

In effect

Last checked

Dominion Energy South Carolina's latest approved rate change took effect July 2026: 2026 electric base rate case (settlement approved, new rates from July 2026). See the details below for what the sources say about bill impacts.

Details and sources · Estimate for your home

Rate changes, newest first

2026 electric base rate case (settlement approved, new rates from July 2026)

Base rate case · Electric

In effect

Typical residential bill (1,000 kWh/month)

  • +7.62%starting July 2026DESC's settlement figure for a residential customer using 1,000 kWh: a 7.62% increase, described as just under $12 a month on a bill of about $159.

Typical bill before the change: $159.00/month

Filed
January 2, 2026
Decided
July 2026
Effective
July 2026
Requested increase
$322 million
Approved increase
$207 million
Docket
2025-325-E

DESC asked in January 2026 for $322M (about $19.98 a month at 1,000 kWh). Settlements with the Office of Regulatory Staff and most intervenors cut that to $207M with a 9.99% return on equity, and the PSC approved them in July 2026. The company puts the residential impact at 7.62%, just under $12 a month, from July; shareholders fund a one-time $3M residential refund.

Utility's stated reasons

  • investment to serve a fast-growing customer base
  • reliability, security and environmental requirements
Sources (4) · Verified against regulator or utility filings

Last verified Oct 26, 2026

Annual fuel cost increase, May 2026

Fuel / purchased power · Electric

In effect

Typical residential bill

Not stated for a specific usage level. Any figures the sources give are in the summary below.

Filed
February 2026
Decided
April 2026
Effective
May 2026
Requested increase
$36 million
Approved increase
Not disclosed
Docket
Not disclosed

DESC's annual fuel filing sought about $36M more a year to cover current fuel costs and an under-collected balance, plus updated environmental and avoided capacity cost components. A settlement with the Office of Regulatory Staff changed the amount only slightly, and the PSC approved it in April 2026 for bills from May 2026. The company's filing gives no per-household figure.

Utility's stated reasons

  • recovery of current base fuel costs
  • existing under-collected fuel balance
Sources (1) · Verified against regulator or utility filings

Last verified Oct 26, 2026

What it could mean for your bill

Sources state the impact for one typical home. Enter your own usage or bill for a rough estimate.

For: 2026 electric base rate case (settlement approved, new rates from July 2026) (in effect)

I know my
kWh/month

Enter a number to see a rough estimate for your home.

Who decides

  • Public Service Commission of South Carolina (South Carolina) · Search dockets

Utility website: www.dominionenergy.com

Other utilities nearby

Last checked Oct 26, 2026. Spotted something out of date? Tell us.