Skip to content
UtilityRateWatch

Duke Energy Carolinas rate increase

Electric · North Carolina, South Carolina · Investor-owned utility · part of Duke Energy Corporation

Settlement pending

Last checked

In North Carolina, Duke Energy Carolinas has a pending increase of about +$9.39/month for a typical 1,000 kWh home starting January 1, 2027, if regulators approve the settlement.

Further step: +$5.52/month from January 1, 2028.

Details and sources · Estimate for your home

Rate changes, newest first

2025 rate case and two-year rate plan (North Carolina)

Multi-year rate plan · North Carolina · Electric

Settlement pending

Typical residential bill (1,000 kWh/month)

  • +$9.39/mostarting January 1, 2027Settlement figure as reported ($156.81 to $166.20); only applies if the Commission approves the settlement
  • +$5.52/mothen from January 1, 2028Second-year step under the settlement, as reported

Combined: +$14.91/mo

Typical bill before the change: $156.81/month

Proposed amounts; regulators may change them.

Filed
November 20, 2025
Decision expected
Not disclosed
Requested effective
January 1, 2027
Requested increase
$1 billion
Approved increase
Pending
Docket
E-7, Sub 1329

Duke Energy Carolinas asked in Nov 2025 for about $1.0 billion over two years (2027-2028). A July 2026 settlement with the Public Staff cuts this to $496 million with a 9.8% return on equity; the Attorney General's office, which did not sign it, puts the residential increase at about 9.5% over two years. No Commission order had been issued as of Sept 29, 2026.

Utility's stated reasons

  • grid upgrades
  • storm resilience
  • infrastructure to serve population and business growth
Sources (6) · Verified against regulator or utility filings

Last verified Sep 29, 2026

Winter 2026 fuel cost recovery (North Carolina)

Fuel / purchased power · North Carolina · Electric

Approved

Typical residential bill

Not stated for a specific usage level. Any figures the sources give are in the summary below.

Filed
April 2026
Decision expected
—
Effective
Not disclosed
Requested increase
Not disclosed
Approved increase
Not disclosed
Docket
E-7, Sub 1313

Duke asked to recover a projected $500 million fuel and purchased-power under-collection (Sept 2025 to Feb 2026) over 19 months, starting June 1, 2026, estimated at about $6.90/month more for an average customer. WRAL reported in July 2026 that regulators had approved the adjustment and it was on bills.

Utility's stated reasons

  • fuel and purchased-power costs above forecast
  • record demand during the January 2026 cold snap
Sources (3) · Based on news or utility announcements

Last verified Sep 29, 2026

2025 base rate case (South Carolina)

Base rate case · South Carolina · Electric

In effect

Typical residential bill (1,000 kWh/month)

  • +$0.84/mostarting March 1, 2026 (+0.6%)Net of tax-credit and customer-assistance bill credits; Duke says it also includes the Helene storm securitization charge that began in January 2026

Typical bill before the change: $148.02/month

Filed
July 1, 2025
Decided
December 4, 2025
Effective
March 1, 2026
Requested increase
$150.5 million
Approved increase
$74.23 million

DEC sought a $150.5 million increase. The PSC approved a settlement with a $74.2 million base increase and 9.99% ROE; nuclear tax-credit and assistance credits cut the net increase to about $18.9 million, so a typical bill rose about $0.84 from March 1, 2026. Post and Courier reported a further ~$4.21/month in about two years as tax credits wind down.

Utility's stated reasons

  • transmission and distribution investments for reliability and resiliency
  • higher cost of capital
  • generation fleet maintenance and coal ash compliance
  • larger storm reserve
Sources (4) · Verified against regulator or utility filings

Last verified Sep 29, 2026

What it could mean for your bill

Sources state the impact for one typical home. Enter your own usage or bill for a rough estimate.

I know my
kWh/month

Enter a number to see a rough estimate for your home.

Who decides

  • North Carolina Utilities Commission (North Carolina) · Search dockets
  • Public Service Commission of South Carolina (South Carolina) · Search dockets

Utility website: www.duke-energy.com

Other utilities nearby

Last checked Oct 2, 2026. Spotted something out of date? Tell us.