Skip to content
UtilityRateWatch

Dominion Energy Virginia rate increase

Electric · Virginia, North Carolina · Investor-owned utility · part of Dominion Energy, Inc.

Proposed

Last checked

Dominion Energy Virginia has a request pending with regulators: Deferred fuel cost securitization (Virginia). See the details below for what the sources say about bill impacts.

Details and sources · Estimate for your home

Rate changes, newest first

2026 base rate case (North Carolina)

Base rate case · North Carolina · Electric

Proposed

Typical residential bill

Not stated for a specific usage level. Any figures the sources give are in the summary below.

Filed
April 2026
Decision expected
Not disclosed
Requested effective
December 1, 2026
Requested increase
$37 million
Approved increase
Pending
Docket
E-22, Sub 765

Dominion Energy North Carolina filed in April 2026 for a $37 million non-fuel base rate increase and a 10.5% ROE, citing generation, transmission and grid investments and higher equipment costs. It proposed interim rates from Dec. 1, 2026 (subject to refund) and permanent rates from March 1, 2027; it said bills would rise about $17/month on average.

Utility's stated reasons

  • gas plant upgrades, battery storage and transmission line rebuilds
  • higher costs for transformers, poles and wire
Sources (2) · Verified against regulator or utility filings

Last verified Sep 29, 2026

2026-27 fuel factor (Virginia)

Fuel / purchased power · Virginia · Electric

In effect

Typical residential bill (1,000 kWh/month)

  • +$7.97/mostarting July 1, 2026Dominion's preferred scenario; charged on an interim basis pending the SCC's final fuel order
Filed
May 2026
Decision expected
—
Effective
July 1, 2026
Requested increase
Not disclosed
Approved increase
Not disclosed
Docket
PUR-2026-00058

Dominion's fuel filing projected $2.7 billion of fuel costs for July 2026 to June 2027, with a proposed factor of 3.7648 cents/kWh. In June 2026 the SCC let rates covering current costs plus $66 million of older under-recovery start July 1 on an interim basis, adding about $7.97/month on a 1,000 kWh bill. A final order is pending.

Utility's stated reasons

  • higher fuel and purchased-power costs
  • January 2026 cold snap
  • purchased power cost up nearly 30% year over year
Sources (4) · Verified against regulator or utility filings

Last verified Sep 29, 2026

Deferred fuel cost securitization (Virginia)

Rider · Virginia · Electric

Proposed

Typical residential bill

Not stated for a specific usage level. Any figures the sources give are in the summary below.

Filed
May 29, 2026
Decision expected
September 29, 2026
Requested effective
Not disclosed
Requested increase
Not disclosed
Approved increase
Pending
Docket
PUR-2026-00078

Dominion asked to finance about $1.0 billion of 2025-26 fuel under-recovery with bonds (up to about 10 years). Dominion said collecting it within a year instead would add about $21.79/month on a 1,000 kWh bill. The Center Square put a 10-year term at about $1.75/month and 7 years at about $2.25; SCC staff favored 7. A final order was due by Sept 29, 2026.

Utility's stated reasons

  • unrecovered fuel and purchased-power costs
  • January 2026 cold weather
  • higher fuel prices
Sources (5) · Verified against regulator or utility filings

Last verified Sep 29, 2026

2025 biennial review: base rate increase (Virginia)

Base rate case · Virginia · Electric

Partially approved

Typical residential bill (1,000 kWh/month)

  • +$11.24/mostarting January 1, 2026 (+7.5%)As approved; percent is the residential bill increase stated for 2026
  • +$2.36/mothen from January 1, 2027 (+1.5%)Second phase as approved

Combined: +$13.60/mo

Filed
March 31, 2025
Decided
November 25, 2025
Effective
January 1, 2026
Requested increase
$822 million
Approved increase
$565.7 million
Docket
PUR-2025-00058

Dominion sought its first base rate increase since 1992. The SCC approved $565.7 million for 2026 and $209.9 million for 2027 (vs $822 million and $345 million requested) with a 9.8% ROE, adding $13.60/month on a 1,000 kWh bill over two years, and created a class for 25 MW+ users such as data centers. An appeal is pending at the Virginia Supreme Court.

Utility's stated reasons

  • inflation in labor, materials and equipment
  • investment to serve a growing customer base
  • reliability
Sources (6) · Verified against regulator or utility filings

Last verified Sep 29, 2026

What it could mean for your bill

Sources state the impact for one typical home. Enter your own usage or bill for a rough estimate.

I know my
kWh/month

Enter a number to see a rough estimate for your home.

Who decides

  • Virginia State Corporation Commission (Virginia)
  • North Carolina Utilities Commission (North Carolina) · Search dockets

Utility website: www.dominionenergy.com

Other utilities nearby

Last checked Oct 2, 2026. Spotted something out of date? Tell us.