Skip to content
UtilityRateWatch

Entergy New Orleans rate increase

Electric · Louisiana · Investor-owned utility · part of Entergy Corporation

Approved

Last checked

Entergy New Orleans' latest approved rate change: Four-year extension of the electric formula rate plan (2027-2030). See the details below for what the sources say about bill impacts.

Details and sources

Rate changes, newest first

Four-year extension of the electric formula rate plan (2027-2030)

Multi-year rate plan · Electric

Approved

Typical residential bill

Not stated for a specific usage level. Any figures the sources give are in the summary below.

Filed
July 20, 2026
Decided
October 1, 2026
Effective
Not disclosed
Requested increase
Not disclosed
Approved increase
Not disclosed
Docket
UD-18-07

The New Orleans City Council approved Entergy New Orleans' request to extend its electric formula rate plan for four more annual filings, in 2027 through 2030, keeping the 9.35% return on equity midpoint. Rates can therefore be reset each September without a full rate case. The Alliance for Affordable Energy had urged a two-year extension instead.

Utility's stated reasons

  • current formula rate plan's last scheduled filing was in 2026
Sources (2) · Verified against regulator or utility filings

Last verified Oct 26, 2026

2026 electric formula rate plan increase, September 2026

Other · Electric

In effect

Typical residential bill

Not stated for a specific usage level. Any figures the sources give are in the summary below.

Filed
April 30, 2026
Decided
August 2026
Effective
September 2026
Requested increase
$16.6 million
Approved increase
Not disclosed
Docket
UD-18-07

Entergy New Orleans' 2026 formula rate filing sought $16.6M (about $7.46 a month on a typical 1,000 kWh bill). The Council's advisors proposed $4.4M in cuts plus a $20M FERC refund cost recovered over five years, about $4.37 a month in all. The company and the advisors settled in August 2026; new rates started in September 2026, but the final residential figure is not published.

Utility's stated reasons

  • earned return of 7.55% below the 9.35% allowed midpoint
  • more plant in service and planned capital additions
  • lower kWh sales
Sources (4) · Verified against regulator or utility filings

Last verified Oct 26, 2026

Who decides

  • Council of the City of New Orleans (Louisiana)

Utility website: www.entergyneworleans.com

Other utilities nearby

Last checked Oct 26, 2026. Spotted something out of date? Tell us.