Skip to content
UtilityRateWatch

JCP&L rate increase

Electric · New Jersey · Investor-owned utility · part of FirstEnergy Corp.

Proposed

Last checked

JCP&L has a pending increase of about +$14.23/month for a typical 767 kWh home starting January 1, 2028, if regulators approve the request.

Details and sources · Estimate for your home

Rate changes, newest first

2026 base rate case and storm cost charge (delivery)

Base rate case · Electric

Proposed

Typical residential bill (767 kWh/month)

  • +$11.88/mostarting January 1, 2028 (+7.3%)Base distribution increase ($162.30 to $174.18). Proposed effective 2027-05-06, but a proposed Rider TXA credit would offset it for residential customers until 2028-01-01. Customer charge $4.27 to $5.83 incl. SUT.
  • +$2.35/mothen from January 1, 2028Proposed Storm Recovery Charge (Rider SRC); computed from the petition's stated bills of $174.18 (base only) and $176.53 (with storm charge).

Combined: +$14.23/mo (+8.8% total)

Typical bill before the change: $162.30/month

Proposed amounts; regulators may change them.

Filed
August 6, 2026
Decision expected
Not disclosed
Requested effective
May 6, 2027
Requested increase
$253 million
Approved increase
Pending
Docket
ER26080420

JCP&L filed on Aug. 6, 2026 for a $253 million annual base distribution (delivery) increase at a 10.2% ROE, plus a new charge recovering about $477 million of deferred storm costs over 10 years ($57.4 million a year). It proposes a credit so residential bills would not change until Jan. 1, 2028; then a 767 kWh bill would rise $14.23 (8.8%). Default supply is not affected.

Utility's stated reasons

  • distribution grid and reliability investments
  • recover deferred storm restoration costs
  • AMI, EV and EnergizeNJ program costs
  • wildfire mitigation costs
Sources (3) · Verified against regulator or utility filings

Last verified Sep 29, 2026

June 2026 default supply (BGS) price change

Fuel / purchased power · Electric

In effect

Typical residential bill (650 kWh/month)

  • +$2.23/mostarting June 1, 2026 (+1.6%)Default supply (BGS) customers only; BPU projects $135.24 to $137.47, before credits or offsets.

Typical bill before the change: $135.24/month

Filed
Not disclosed
Decided
February 12, 2026
Effective
June 1, 2026
Requested increase
Not disclosed
Approved increase
Not disclosed
Docket
ER25040190

New Jersey's annual BGS auction sets default supply prices for customers without a third-party supplier. After the February 2026 auction, the BPU projected JCP&L's average residential bill (650 kWh) would go from $135.24 to $137.47 (+1.6%) on June 1, 2026, before credits. This is a supply change, not a delivery-rate change; the BPU later ordered a one-time $25 residential credit in August 2026.

Utility's stated reasons

  • higher wholesale energy prices
  • higher PJM capacity prices
Sources (4) · Verified against regulator or utility filings

Last verified Sep 29, 2026

June 2025 default supply (BGS) price increase

Fuel / purchased power · Electric

In effect

Typical residential bill (650 kWh/month)

  • +$22.67/mostarting June 1, 2025 (+20.2%)Default supply (BGS) customers only; BPU projects $112.25 to $134.92. Excludes the temporary $30 summer credits and later $10 recovery charges.

Typical bill before the change: $112.25/month

Filed
Not disclosed
Decided
February 12, 2025
Effective
June 1, 2025
Requested increase
Not disclosed
Approved increase
Not disclosed
Docket
ER24030191

After the February 2025 BGS auction, the BPU projected JCP&L's average residential default-supply bill (650 kWh) would rise from $112.25 to $134.92 (20.20%) on June 1, 2025, mainly from higher PJM capacity costs. A BPU-approved JCP&L settlement then gave residential customers $30 credits in July and August 2025, recovered through $10 monthly charges from September 2025 to February 2026.

Utility's stated reasons

  • higher PJM capacity prices
  • rising electricity demand with limited new supply
Sources (3) · Verified against regulator or utility filings

Last verified Sep 29, 2026

2023 base rate filing, decided 2024 (delivery)

Base rate case · Electric

In effect

Typical residential bill (777 kWh/month)

  • +$4.26/mostarting June 1, 2024 (+3.6%)Compared with rates in effect Jan. 1, 2024; resulting typical bill $121.80. Fixed part computed from the stated customer charge change ($3.25 to $4.27 incl. SUT).
Filed
March 16, 2023
Decided
February 14, 2024
Effective
June 1, 2024
Requested increase
$192.25 million
Approved increase
$85 million
Docket
ER23030144

JCP&L filed in March 2023 for about $184.95 million, later updated to about $192.25 million, in added base distribution revenue. The BPU approved a settlement on Feb. 14, 2024 for $85 million at a 9.60% ROE, effective June 1, 2024, with a $17,928,462 customer refund and a reliability plan for 18 high-priority circuits. These are the delivery rates in effect until the 2026 case is decided.

Utility's stated reasons

  • return on distribution investments
  • deferred storm costs
  • AMI and EV program costs
Sources (2) · Verified against regulator or utility filings

Last verified Sep 29, 2026

What it could mean for your bill

Sources state the impact for one typical home. Enter your own usage or bill for a rough estimate.

I know my
kWh/month

Enter a number to see a rough estimate for your home.

Who decides

Utility website: www.firstenergycorp.com

Other utilities nearby

Last checked Oct 2, 2026. Spotted something out of date? Tell us.