Skip to content
UtilityRateWatch

PSE&G rate increase

Electric · New Jersey · Investor-owned utility · part of Public Service Enterprise Group Inc.

In effect

Last checked

PSE&G's latest approved rate change took effect June 1, 2026: June 2026 default supply (BGS) price change, which lowered a typical 650 kWh monthly bill by about $3.23.

Details and sources · Estimate for your home

Rate changes, newest first

June 2026 default supply (BGS) price change

Fuel / purchased power · Electric

In effect

Typical residential bill (650 kWh/month)

  • −$3.23/mostarting June 1, 2026 (−1.8%)Default supply (BGS) customers only; BPU projects $183.46 to $180.23, before any credits or offsets.

Typical bill before the change: $183.46/month

Filed
Not disclosed
Decided
February 12, 2026
Effective
June 1, 2026
Requested increase
Not disclosed
Approved increase
Not disclosed
Docket
ER25040190

New Jersey's annual BGS auction sets default electricity supply prices for customers who do not buy from a third-party supplier. After the February 2026 auction, the BPU projected PSE&G's average residential bill (650 kWh) would go from $183.46 to $180.23 (-1.8%) on June 1, 2026, before credits. This changes supply charges, not delivery rates.

Utility's stated reasons

  • wholesale energy and PJM capacity prices
  • PJM capacity price cap limited the increase
Sources (2) · Verified against regulator or utility filings

Last verified Sep 29, 2026

June 2025 default supply (BGS) price increase

Fuel / purchased power · Electric

In effect

Typical residential bill (650 kWh/month)

  • +$26.87/mostarting June 1, 2025 (+17.24%)Default supply (BGS) customers only; BPU projects $155.84 to $182.71. Excludes the temporary summer 2025 credit and later recovery charge.

Typical bill before the change: $155.84/month

Filed
Not disclosed
Decided
February 12, 2025
Effective
June 1, 2025
Requested increase
Not disclosed
Approved increase
Not disclosed
Docket
ER24030191

After the February 2025 BGS auction, the BPU projected PSE&G's average residential default-supply bill (650 kWh) would rise from $155.84 to $182.71 (17.24%) on June 1, 2025, mainly from higher PJM capacity costs. A BPU-approved offset gave residential customers $30 monthly credits in July-August 2025, recovered by $10 monthly charges from September 2025 to February 2026.

Utility's stated reasons

  • higher PJM capacity prices
  • demand growth including data centers
  • slow interconnection of new generation
Sources (3) · Verified against regulator or utility filings

Last verified Sep 29, 2026

What it could mean for your bill

Sources state the impact for one typical home. Enter your own usage or bill for a rough estimate.

I know my
kWh/month

Enter a number to see a rough estimate for your home.

Who decides

Utility website: nj.pseg.com

Other utilities nearby

Last checked Oct 2, 2026. Spotted something out of date? Tell us.