Skip to content
UtilityRateWatch

National Grid Massachusetts rate increase

Electric · Massachusetts · Investor-owned utility · part of National Grid plc

Proposed

Last checked

National Grid Massachusetts has a pending increase of about +$0.60/month for a typical 600 kWh home, if regulators approve the request.

Details and sources · Estimate for your home

Rate changes, newest first

October 2026 annual PBR adjustment (D.P.U. 26-84)

Multi-year rate plan · Electric

Proposed

Typical residential bill (600 kWh/month)

  • +$0.60/mostarting October 1, 2026 (+0.3%)Massachusetts Electric R-1 basic service customer, if approved as filed; covers the whole filing (O&M adjustment, incentive and previously approved storm factor).

Proposed amounts; regulators may change them.

Filed
June 15, 2026
Decision expected
Not disclosed
Requested effective
October 1, 2026
Requested increase
$13.56 million
Approved increase
Pending
Docket
D.P.U. 26-84

In its second annual adjustment under the 5-year PBR plan from D.P.U. 23-150, National Grid asked to raise delivery rates by $13,559,331 (a 2.224% O&M adjustment) from Oct. 1, 2026, plus a $426,040 performance incentive and a previously approved $29,782,944 storm factor. The DPU notice says a typical 600 kWh residential bill would rise $0.60 (0.3%).

Utility's stated reasons

  • annual inflation-based O&M adjustment under the PBR plan
  • income-eligible program administration costs
  • previously approved storm cost recovery
Sources (2) · Verified against regulator or utility filings

Last verified Sep 29, 2026

August 2026 basic service (default supply) increase

Fuel / purchased power · Electric

In effect

Typical residential bill

Not stated for a specific usage level. Any figures the sources give are in the summary below.

Filed
Not disclosed
Decision expected
—
Effective
August 1, 2026
Requested increase
Not disclosed
Approved increase
Not disclosed
Docket
Not disclosed

National Grid's fixed residential basic service (default supply) price rose from 15.372 to 17.185 cents/kWh for Aug. 1, 2026 through Jan. 31, 2027, after 15.484 cents in Aug. 2025 to Jan. 2026. It applies only to customers not on municipal aggregation or a competitive supplier; delivery rates are unchanged.

Sources (3) · Based on news or utility announcements

Last verified Sep 29, 2026

Winter 2026 bill reduction and deferred-cost recovery (D.P.U. 26-11, 26-45)

Other · Electric

In effect

Typical residential bill

Not stated for a specific usage level. Any figures the sources give are in the summary below.

Filed
March 16, 2026
Decision expected
—
Effective
February 1, 2026
Requested increase
Not disclosed
Approved increase
Not disclosed
Docket
D.P.U. 26-45

Residential bills were cut 25% for February and March 2026 usage, partly paid by state funds. The DPU approved National Grid's deferral of the rest on Jan. 30, 2026. National Grid proposed recovering it from May to December 2026 at $0.00528/kWh, about +$3.17 (1.4%) a month for a typical residential customer, and agreed not to charge interest.

Utility's stated reasons

  • state initiative to lower winter bills
Sources (3) · Verified against regulator or utility filings

Last verified Sep 29, 2026

2024 base rate case and 5-year PBR plan (D.P.U. 23-150)

Multi-year rate plan · Electric

In effect

Typical residential bill

Not stated for a specific usage level. Any figures the sources give are in the summary below.

Filed
November 16, 2023
Decided
September 30, 2024
Effective
October 1, 2024
Requested increase
$131.23 million
Approved increase
$79.55 million
Docket
D.P.U. 23-150

National Grid sought $131,232,856 a year in added distribution (delivery) revenue, later revised to $118,277,373. The DPU approved $79.6 million at a 9.35% ROE, effective Oct. 1, 2024, plus a 5-year PBR plan with O&M adjustments each Oct. 1 from 2025 and a capped capital recovery mechanism. CommonWealth Beacon estimated first-year bills would rise $6 to $7 a month.

Utility's stated reasons

  • growing capital investment requirements
  • operation and maintenance cost recovery
  • storm costs
Sources (4) · Verified against regulator or utility filings

Last verified Sep 29, 2026

What it could mean for your bill

Sources state the impact for one typical home. Enter your own usage or bill for a rough estimate.

For: October 2026 annual PBR adjustment (D.P.U. 26-84) (proposed)

I know my
kWh/month

Enter a number to see a rough estimate for your home.

Who decides

  • Massachusetts Department of Public Utilities (Massachusetts) · Search dockets

Utility website: www.nationalgridus.com

Other utilities nearby

Last checked Oct 2, 2026. Spotted something out of date? Tell us.