Skip to content
UtilityRateWatch

PECO rate increase

Electric · Pennsylvania · Investor-owned utility · part of Exelon Corporation

In effect

Last checked

PECO's latest approved rate change took effect June 1, 2026: June 2026 default supply (price to compare) increase, which raised a typical 700 kWh monthly bill by about $4.94.

Details and sources · Estimate for your home

Rate changes, newest first

2026 electric distribution rate case (withdrawn)

Base rate case · Electric

Withdrawn

Typical residential bill (700 kWh/month)

  • +$20.08/mostarting 2027 (+12.5%)Proposed only, never took effect. PECO also proposed an offset of $2.30/month (1.3%) from April 2027.
Filed
March 30, 2026
Decision expected
—
Effective
2027
Requested increase
$429 million
Approved increase
Not disclosed
Docket
Not disclosed

On March 30, 2026 PECO asked the PUC for $429 million more in annual electric distribution revenue, citing reliability investments and growing demand. A typical residential bill would have risen $20.08 (12.5%) in 2027, before a proposed $2.30 offset. In April 2026, after talks with Governor Shapiro, PECO withdrew its electric and gas requests.

Utility's stated reasons

  • safety and reliability investments
  • growing energy demand
  • fewer and shorter power outages
  • integrating EVs, solar and storage
Sources (5) · Based on news or utility announcements

Last verified Sep 29, 2026

June 2026 default supply (price to compare) increase

Fuel / purchased power · Electric

In effect

Typical residential bill (700 kWh/month)

  • +$4.94/mostarting June 1, 2026 (+3.1%)Default supply customers only; PECO's estimate for a typical residential customer, as reported by NBC10.
Filed
Not disclosed
Decision expected
—
Effective
June 1, 2026
Requested increase
Not disclosed
Approved increase
Not disclosed
Docket
P-2024-3046008

PECO's residential price to compare (default supply) went from 11.024 to 11.759 cents per kWh for June 1 to November 30, 2026, which PECO attributes to higher PJM energy and capacity prices. PECO estimated about $4.94 more a month (3.1%) for a typical 700 kWh customer. Customers who buy from a competitive supplier are not on this rate; delivery rates did not change.

Utility's stated reasons

  • higher PJM wholesale energy prices
  • higher PJM capacity prices
Sources (2) · Based on news or utility announcements

Last verified Sep 29, 2026

2024 electric rate case settlement (rates effective 2025)

Base rate case · Electric

In effect

Typical residential bill (700 kWh/month)

  • +$13.58/mostarting January 1, 2025 (+10%)Average residential bill rises to $149.43 (Billy Penn); PECO release says about 10%.
  • +$2.70/mothen from 2026 (+1.8%)Additional 2026 increase to $152.13 (Billy Penn); exact 2026 date not stated.

Combined: +$16.28/mo

Filed
Not disclosed
Decided
December 12, 2024
Effective
January 1, 2025
Requested increase
$464 million
Approved increase
$354 million
Docket
R-2024-3046931

PECO sought $464 million more in annual electric distribution revenue. The PUC approved a settlement for $354 million on December 12, 2024, with new delivery rates from January 1, 2025. A typical residential customer using 700 kWh pays about $13.58 (10%) more per month in 2025 and another $2.70 (1.8%) in 2026.

Utility's stated reasons

  • safe and reliable service
  • grid resilience against severe weather
  • transition to cleaner energy
  • low-income assistance programs
Sources (3) · Verified against regulator or utility filings

Last verified Sep 29, 2026

What it could mean for your bill

Sources state the impact for one typical home. Enter your own usage or bill for a rough estimate.

I know my
kWh/month

Enter a number to see a rough estimate for your home.

Who decides

  • Pennsylvania Public Utility Commission (Pennsylvania)

Utility website: www.peco.com

Other utilities nearby

Last checked Oct 2, 2026. Spotted something out of date? Tell us.