Skip to content
UtilityRateWatch

Consumers Energy rate increase

Electric · Michigan · Investor-owned utility · part of CMS Energy Corporation

Proposed

Last checked

Consumers Energy has a request pending with regulators: 2026 electric rate case, seeking $456 million. See the details below for what the sources say about bill impacts.

Details and sources

Rate changes, newest first

2026 electric rate case

Base rate case · Electric

Proposed

Typical residential bill

Not stated for a specific usage level. Any figures the sources give are in the summary below.

Filed
June 2, 2026
Decision expected
Not disclosed
Requested effective
Not disclosed
Requested increase
$456 million
Approved increase
Pending
Docket
U-22070

Consumers Energy asked the MPSC for a $456 million annual electric increase at a 10.25% ROE, using a test year ending April 30, 2028. News reports say it also seeks a 12-month $25 million surcharge, $52 million over three years for storm restoration, and continuation of its investment recovery mechanism, and that residential rates would rise 9.8%.

Utility's stated reasons

  • distribution reliability investments
  • fewer and shorter power outages
  • storm restoration costs
Sources (4) · Verified against regulator or utility filings

Last verified Sep 29, 2026

2025 electric rate case (rates from May 2026)

Base rate case · Electric

In effect

Typical residential bill

Not stated for a specific usage level. Any figures the sources give are in the summary below.

Filed
June 2025
Decided
March 27, 2026
Effective
May 1, 2026
Requested increase
$328 million
Approved increase
$217 million
Docket
U-21870

The MPSC approved a Consumers Energy electric increase at a 9.90% ROE (10.25% sought), plus a $24 million surcharge for past distribution investment. Announced as $276.6 million, it was restated in an April 2026 errata as $217 million against a corrected $328 million request, with customer rates unchanged. The AG's office said residential bills rise 8.9% from May 1, 2026.

Utility's stated reasons

  • distribution system reliability investments
Sources (4) · Verified against regulator or utility filings

Last verified Sep 29, 2026

Who decides

Utility website: www.consumersenergy.com

Other utilities nearby

Last checked Oct 2, 2026. Spotted something out of date? Tell us.