Skip to content
UtilityRateWatch

DTE Electric rate increase

Electric · Michigan · Investor-owned utility · part of DTE Energy Company

Proposed

Last checked

DTE Electric has a request pending with regulators: 2026 electric rate case (rates from 2027), seeking $474.3 million. See the details below for what the sources say about bill impacts.

Details and sources · Estimate for your home

Rate changes, newest first

2026 electric rate case (rates from 2027)

Base rate case · Electric

Proposed

Typical residential bill

Not stated for a specific usage level. Any figures the sources give are in the summary below.

Filed
April 28, 2026
Decision expected
February 2027
Requested effective
March 1, 2027
Requested increase
$474.3 million
Approved increase
Pending
Docket
U-22046

DTE Electric asked the MPSC for about $474.3 million a year in new revenue, based on a 10.25% ROE, with new rates as early as March 1, 2027. It also proposes extending its Infrastructure Recovery Mechanism surcharge, rising from $154.4 million in 2028 to $318.1 million in 2030. Planet Detroit reports the request would raise residential rates about 9.7%.

Utility's stated reasons

  • distribution grid reliability investments
  • keeping the generation fleet reliable while moving to cleaner sources
  • meeting MPSC service quality and reliability standards
Sources (4) · Verified against regulator or utility filings

Last verified Sep 29, 2026

2025 electric rate case (rates from March 2026)

Base rate case · Electric

In effect

Typical residential bill (500 kWh/month)

  • +$4.93/mostarting March 5, 2026DTE-stated increase for the average residential customer using 500 kWh/month
Filed
April 24, 2025
Decided
February 19, 2026
Effective
March 5, 2026
Requested increase
$574.1 million
Approved increase
$242.4 million
Docket
U-21860

The MPSC approved a $242.4 million annual increase for DTE Electric, under half the $574.1 million requested, and kept the ROE at 9.9% (DTE sought 10.75%). New rates began March 5, 2026, adding $4.93/month for a residential customer using 500 kWh; Planet Detroit puts the residential increase at 4.1%. The MPSC also approved grid-investment surcharge amounts for 2026-2027.

Utility's stated reasons

  • electric reliability investments
  • strengthening the grid in Southeast Michigan
Sources (4) · Verified against regulator or utility filings

Last verified Sep 29, 2026

2024 electric rate case (decided January 2025)

Base rate case · Electric

Approved

Typical residential bill

Not stated for a specific usage level. Any figures the sources give are in the summary below.

Filed
Not disclosed
Decided
January 23, 2025
Effective
Not disclosed
Requested increase
$456.4 million
Approved increase
$217 million
Docket
U-21534

In January 2025 the MPSC approved a $217 million annual increase for DTE Electric, about 52% below the $456.4 million requested, and kept the ROE at 9.9% (DTE had sought 10.5%). The MPSC said the increase adds $4.61 to the average customer's monthly bill. These rates were later replaced by the March 2026 increase.

Sources (2) · Based on news or utility announcements

Last verified Sep 29, 2026

What it could mean for your bill

Sources state the impact for one typical home. Enter your own usage or bill for a rough estimate.

For: 2025 electric rate case (rates from March 2026) (in effect)

I know my
kWh/month

Enter a number to see a rough estimate for your home.

Who decides

Utility website: www.dteenergy.com

Other utilities nearby

Last checked Oct 2, 2026. Spotted something out of date? Tell us.