Skip to content
UtilityRateWatch

Duke Energy Florida rate increase

Electric · Florida · Investor-owned utility · part of Duke Energy Corporation

Proposed

Last checked

Duke Energy Florida has a pending decrease of about −$0.71/month for a typical 1,000 kWh home starting January 2027, if regulators approve the request.

Details and sources · Estimate for your home

Rate changes, newest first

Proposed January 2027 rate changes (fuel and other charges)

Other · Electric

Proposed

Typical residential bill (1,000 kWh/month)

  • −$0.71/mostarting January 2027Change from December 2026 to January 2027 bill, as requested; pending PSC approval.

Proposed amounts; regulators may change them.

Filed
September 3, 2026
Decision expected
Not disclosed
Requested effective
January 2027
Requested increase
Not disclosed
Approved increase
Pending
Docket
Not disclosed

On Sept 3, 2026 Duke Energy Florida asked the PSC to approve 2027 rates that would cut a typical 1,000-kWh residential bill by $0.71 from December 2026 to January 2027. Duke cites falling fuel costs and a tax strategy that delivers $50 million in savings in place of a 2% base increase, partly offset by slightly higher grid-investment costs.

Utility's stated reasons

  • lower fuel costs
  • tax strategy delivering $50 million in savings in place of a 2027 base increase
  • grid investments rising slightly
Sources (2) · Based on news or utility announcements

Last verified Sep 29, 2026

Refund of 2024 hurricane storm-charge over-collection (June-September 2026)

Rider · Electric

Approved

Typical residential bill (1,000 kWh/month)

  • Amount not disclosedstarting June 2026Temporary cut in the residential fuel charge (4.414 to 3.852 cents/kWh) for June-September 2026 billing cycles. Duke says the true-up plus new solar-site cost recovery nets about a $6 decrease versus March-May 2026.
  • Amount not disclosedthen from October 2026Fuel charge returns to the approved level after the four-month refund period.
Filed
Not disclosed
Decided
May 2026
Effective
June 2026
Requested increase
Not disclosed
Approved increase
Not disclosed
Docket
Not disclosed

Duke Energy Florida's 2024 hurricane charge collected about $1.006 billion against final costs of about $915.3 million. In May 2026 the PSC approved returning the $90.5 million difference through a temporary cut of 0.562 cents/kWh in the residential fuel charge on June-September 2026 bills.

Utility's stated reasons

  • storm charge collected more than final 2024 hurricane costs
Sources (2) · Based on news or utility announcements

Last verified Sep 29, 2026

Storm cost recovery charge for Hurricanes Debby, Helene and Milton (March 2025-January 2026)

Rider · Electric

Approved

Typical residential bill (1,000 kWh/month)

  • +$32.40/mostarting March 2025Interim charge of 3.240 cents/kWh per the revised PSC staff recommendation, subject to refund. Duke said the net March 2025 change was about $21 because of its seasonal March-November decrease.
  • −$32.40/mothen from February 2026Charge removed from February 2026 bills, one month early; Duke describes the drop as about $33 versus January.

Combined: +$0.00/mo

Filed
December 27, 2024
Decided
February 2025
Effective
March 2025
Requested increase
Not disclosed
Approved increase
Not disclosed

Duke Energy Florida sought $1.09 billion for 2024 hurricane restoration and its storm reserve. The PSC approved an interim charge, subject to refund, of 3.240 cents/kWh ($32.40 on a 1,000-kWh bill) starting with March 2025 bills. Costs were recovered ahead of schedule, so the charge came off bills in February 2026 instead of March.

Utility's stated reasons

  • restoration after Hurricanes Debby, Helene and Milton
  • replenishing the storm reserve
Sources (4) · Verified against regulator or utility filings

Last verified Sep 29, 2026

2024 rate settlement: base rate steps for 2025-2027

Multi-year rate plan · Electric

In effect

Typical residential bill (1,000 kWh/month)

  • −$8.26/mostarting January 2025 (−5%)Whole-bill change January 2025 vs December 2024: the base increase was more than offset by expiring fuel under-recovery, storm and legacy purchased-power charges.
  • +$7.54/mothen from January 2026Whole-bill change January 2026 vs December 2025 per Duke; includes the 2026 base step plus solar and other clause changes (storm charge still on the bill).

Combined: −$0.72/mo

Filed
April 2, 2024
Decided
August 21, 2024
Effective
January 2025
Requested increase
$503 million
Approved increase
$203 million

Duke Energy Florida sought base increases of $503M (2025), $98M (2026) and $129M (2027). On Aug 21, 2024 the PSC approved a settlement with $203M in 2025 and $59M in 2026, added solar-site increases as plants come online, and about $50M of tax credits instead of a 2027 base increase, at a 10.3% ROE midpoint. Expiring charges meant January 2025 bills still fell.

Utility's stated reasons

  • 12 new solar facilities
  • technology to improve efficiency and reduce outages
  • grid reliability
Sources (6) · Verified against regulator or utility filings

Last verified Sep 29, 2026

What it could mean for your bill

Sources state the impact for one typical home. Enter your own usage or bill for a rough estimate.

I know my
kWh/month

Enter a number to see a rough estimate for your home.

Who decides

Utility website: www.duke-energy.com

Other utilities nearby

Last checked Oct 2, 2026. Spotted something out of date? Tell us.