Skip to content
UtilityRateWatch

Florida Power & Light rate increase

Electric · Florida · Investor-owned utility · part of NextEra Energy, Inc.

In effect

Last checked

Florida Power & Light has an approved increase of about +$6.41/month for a typical 1,000 kWh home starting January 2027.

Further steps: +$3.19/month from January 2028, then +$1.91/month from December 2029.

Details and sources · Estimate for your home

Rate changes, newest first

One-time refund of 2024 hurricane storm-charge over-collection (September 2026)

Rider · Electric

Approved

Typical residential bill (1,000 kWh/month)

  • −$8.00/mostarting September 2026One-month credit on September 2026 bills only. FPL describes it as about $8; per-kWh credit taken from FPL's September 2026 residential rate sheet.
  • +$8.00/mothen from October 2026The one-month credit ends after September 2026 bills (reverses the credit above; not a new charge).

Combined: +$0.00/mo

Filed
Not disclosed
Decided
July 7, 2026
Effective
September 2026
Requested increase
Not disclosed
Approved increase
Not disclosed
Docket
Not disclosed

Final restoration costs for Hurricanes Debby, Helene and Milton came in below FPL's 2024 estimate, and the 2025 surcharge brought in more than projected. On July 7, 2026 the PSC approved returning about $80 million with interest as a one-time reduction on September 2026 bills, about $8 for a typical 1,000-kWh residential customer.

Utility's stated reasons

  • final 2024 hurricane restoration costs came in below estimates
  • 2025 surcharge collected more than projected
Sources (3) · Based on news or utility announcements

Last verified Sep 29, 2026

2025 base rate case: four-year settlement (2026-2029)

Multi-year rate plan · Electric

In effect

Typical residential bill (1,000 kWh/month)

  • +$2.50/mostarting January 1, 2026Peninsular Florida bill goes from $134.14 to $136.64 (FPL says about 2%). Northwest Florida bill goes from $143.60 to $141.36.
  • +$6.41/mothen from January 2027Computed from FPL's projected bills ($136.64 to $143.05). Projection includes estimated fuel and other clauses; FPL says $143.25 if 2027 solar and battery projects are approved.
  • +$3.19/mothen from January 2028Computed from FPL's projected bills ($143.05 to $146.24); includes projected fuel and other clauses.
  • +$1.91/mothen from December 2029Computed from FPL's projected bills ($146.24 in Jan 2028 to $148.15 in Dec 2029); includes projected fuel and other clauses.

Combined: +$14.01/mo

Typical bill before the change: $134.14/month

Filed
February 28, 2025
Decided
November 20, 2025
Effective
January 1, 2026
Requested increase
$1.55 billion
Approved increase
$945 million

FPL asked for $1.545B in new base revenue for 2026 plus later steps. On Nov 20, 2025 the PSC approved a settlement allowing $945M from Jan 2026, $705M more in 2027 and solar/battery adjustments in 2028-2029, at a 10.95% ROE. The Office of Public Counsel opposed it; after the PSC denied reconsideration in April 2026, the challenge moves to the Florida Supreme Court.

Utility's stated reasons

  • serving about 335,000 new customers by 2030
  • new generation and battery storage
  • smart-grid and reliability investments
  • replacing aging infrastructure
Sources (7) · Verified against regulator or utility filings

Last verified Sep 29, 2026

Interim storm restoration surcharge for Hurricanes Debby, Helene and Milton (2025)

Rider · Electric

Approved

Typical residential bill (1,000 kWh/month)

  • +$12.02/mostarting January 2025Interim surcharge of 1.202 cents/kWh on all bills January through December 2025, subject to refund.
  • −$12.02/mothen from January 2026Surcharge drops off after the 12-month recovery period ending December 31, 2025, as set out in the PSC staff recommendation.

Combined: +$0.00/mo

Filed
October 29, 2024
Decided
December 3, 2024
Effective
January 2025
Requested increase
Not disclosed
Approved increase
Not disclosed

FPL sought about $1.2 billion to recover 2024 hurricane restoration costs and rebuild a $150 million storm reserve. The PSC approved an interim surcharge, subject to refund, adding $12.02 to a 1,000-kWh residential bill for January-December 2025. Final costs were later set lower, leading to the September 2026 refund.

Utility's stated reasons

  • restoration costs from Hurricanes Debby, Helene and Milton
  • replenishing the storm reserve
Sources (2) · Verified against regulator or utility filings

Last verified Sep 29, 2026

What it could mean for your bill

Sources state the impact for one typical home. Enter your own usage or bill for a rough estimate.

I know my
kWh/month

Enter a number to see a rough estimate for your home.

Who decides

Utility website: www.fpl.com

Other utilities nearby

Last checked Oct 2, 2026. Spotted something out of date? Tell us.