Skip to content
UtilityRateWatch

Ohio Edison rate increase

Electric · Ohio · Investor-owned utility · part of FirstEnergy Corp.

Proposed

Last checked

Ohio Edison has a pending increase of about +$4.26/month for a typical 1,000 kWh home starting 2027, if regulators approve the request.

Further steps: +$4.26/month from 2028, then +$4.26/month from 2029.

Details and sources · Estimate for your home

Rate changes, newest first

Three-year distribution rate plan, 2027 to 2030 (FirstEnergy Ohio)

Multi-year rate plan · Electric

Proposed

Typical residential bill (1,000 kWh/month)

  • +$4.26/mostarting 2027 (+2.2%)FirstEnergy's Ohio Edison estimate for a non-shopping customer: an average annual increase of 2.2%, or $4.26/month each year of the plan.
  • +$4.26/mothen from 2028 (+2.2%)Year 2 of the plan; same stated average annual figure.
  • +$4.26/mothen from 2029 (+2.2%)Year 3 of the plan; the Ohio Consumers' Counsel puts the Ohio Edison total at $12.78/month by year 3.

Combined: +$12.78/mo

Proposed amounts; regulators may change them.

Filed
May 22, 2026
Decision expected
Not disclosed
Requested effective
2027
Requested increase
$254 million
Approved increase
Pending

Ohio Edison, the Illuminating Co. and Toledo Edison filed their first three-year rate plan on May 22, 2026. Combined, they seek about $254 million more in distribution revenue in year one, then about $59 million and $80 million (10.2% ROE). FirstEnergy says a non-shopping 1,000 kWh Ohio Edison bill would rise about $4.26/month (2.2%) each year from 2027. Hearings start March 2027.

Utility's stated reasons

  • about $800 million a year for poles, wires and grid technology
  • about $83 million a year for tree trimming
Sources (3) · Verified against regulator or utility filings

Last verified Sep 29, 2026

2024 base distribution rate case (rates from March 2026, FirstEnergy Ohio)

Base rate case · Electric

In effect

Typical residential bill (1,000 kWh/month)

  • −$13.27/mostarting March 1, 2026FirstEnergy's Jan 8, 2026 Ohio Edison estimate vs January 2026 bills, including temporary credits from the January 2026 settlement. It predates the Feb 18, 2026 rehearing entry, which cut Ohio Edison revenue further.
  • +$15.69/modate not disclosedWhen the temporary credits and charges expire. Computed from FirstEnergy's two stated figures: +$2.42 vs January 2026 bills minus -$13.27 during the credit period.

Combined: +$2.42/mo

Filed
May 31, 2024
Decided
November 19, 2025
Effective
March 1, 2026
Requested increase
$190.3 million
Approved change
−$5 million

FirstEnergy's three Ohio utilities asked on May 31, 2024 for about $190.3 million more a year combined. The PUCO's Nov. 19, 2025 order and Feb. 18, 2026 rehearing entry left a combined net decrease of about $5 million; Ohio Edison's own revenue falls about $24.5 million. New rates began March 1, 2026, alongside temporary bill credits from a January 2026 settlement.

Utility's stated reasons

  • operating and other costs up significantly since the last rate case
Sources (6) · Verified against regulator or utility filings

Last verified Sep 29, 2026

What it could mean for your bill

Sources state the impact for one typical home. Enter your own usage or bill for a rough estimate.

I know my
kWh/month

Enter a number to see a rough estimate for your home.

Who decides

Utility website: www.firstenergycorp.com

Other utilities nearby

Last checked Oct 2, 2026. Spotted something out of date? Tell us.