Skip to content
UtilityRateWatch

Duke Energy Ohio rate increase

Electric · Ohio · Investor-owned utility · part of Duke Energy Corporation

Proposed

Last checked

Duke Energy Ohio has a pending increase of about +$8.00/month for a typical 1,000 kWh home starting May 2027, if regulators approve the request.

Details and sources · Estimate for your home

Rate changes, newest first

2026 electric distribution rate case (delivery charges)

Base rate case · Electric

Proposed

Typical residential bill (1,000 kWh/month)

  • +$8.00/mostarting May 2027 (+4.5%)Duke's approximate figure ('about $8', 4.5% of the total residential bill) as reported by Local 12 and FOX19. The Ohio Consumers' Counsel fact sheet says about $8.32/month for a typical consumer but gives no usage basis.

Proposed amounts; regulators may change them.

Filed
March 30, 2026
Decision expected
2027
Requested effective
May 2027
Requested increase
$90 million
Approved increase
Pending

Duke Energy Ohio filed on March 30, 2026 to raise electric distribution (delivery) rates by about $90 million a year, its first distribution case since 2021, requesting a 10.5% ROE. Duke says a 1,000 kWh residential bill would rise about 4.5% (about $8/month). It changes delivery (distribution) charges, not the supply price. Hearing set for January 2027; new rates expected May 2027.

Utility's stated reasons

  • grid modernization since the 2021 rate case
  • storm preparedness and vegetation management
  • technology to reduce outages
Sources (4) · Verified against regulator or utility filings

Last verified Sep 29, 2026

Default supply (SSO) price increase, June 2026

Fuel / purchased power · Electric

In effect

Typical residential bill

Not stated for a specific usage level. Any figures the sources give are in the summary below.

Filed
Not disclosed
Decision expected
—
Effective
June 1, 2026
Requested increase
Not disclosed
Approved increase
Not disclosed
Docket
Not disclosed

Duke Energy Ohio's residential price to compare (the default generation supply rate) went from $0.100819 to $0.107016 per kWh on June 1, 2026, about 6%, for the period through May 31, 2027. This affects only customers on Duke's standard offer, not those with a retail supplier or aggregation; delivery charges are separate.

Sources (1) · Based on news or utility announcements

Last verified Sep 29, 2026

Default supply (SSO) price increase, June 2025

Fuel / purchased power · Electric

In effect

Typical residential bill

Not stated for a specific usage level. Any figures the sources give are in the summary below.

Filed
Not disclosed
Decision expected
—
Effective
June 1, 2025
Requested increase
Not disclosed
Approved increase
Not disclosed
Docket
Not disclosed

On June 1, 2025 Duke Energy Ohio's residential price to compare (default generation supply) rose from $0.080174 to $0.104450 per kWh, up 30%. Duke told FOX19 the change adds about $8 to an average monthly bill. Only customers on Duke's standard offer are affected; shoppers and aggregation customers pay their supplier's price.

Sources (2) · Based on news or utility announcements

Last verified Sep 29, 2026

What it could mean for your bill

Sources state the impact for one typical home. Enter your own usage or bill for a rough estimate.

For: 2026 electric distribution rate case (delivery charges) (proposed)

I know my
kWh/month

Enter a number to see a rough estimate for your home.

Who decides

Utility website: www.duke-energy.com

Other utilities nearby

Last checked Oct 2, 2026. Spotted something out of date? Tell us.