Default supply (SSO) price change, June 2026
Fuel / purchased power · Electric
Typical residential bill (1,000 kWh/month)
- +$1.81/mostarting June 1, 2026AEP Ohio's figure ('about $1.81 per month') for a 1,000 kWh SSO customer. AEP also calls it 'a difference of 0.9%' without saying 0.9% of what, so percent is left null.
- Filed
- Not disclosed
- Decision expected
- —
- Effective
- June 1, 2026
- Requested increase
- Not disclosed
- Approved increase
- Not disclosed
- Docket
- Not disclosed
On June 1, 2026 AEP Ohio's residential standard service offer (default generation) rate rose to $0.1012 per kWh, in effect through May 31, 2027. AEP says this adds about $1.81 a month for a 1,000 kWh customer. It affects only customers on AEP's default supply, not those with a retail supplier or aggregation; AEP says it earns no profit on this charge.
Utility's stated reasons
- not enough generation to meet demand, per AEP
Sources (1) · Based on news or utility announcements
- Rate Change for Customers on AEP Ohio's Standard Service OfferAEP Ohio (AEP Ohio Wire) · Utility website · accessed Sep 29, 2026
Last verified Sep 29, 2026