Skip to content
UtilityRateWatch

AES Ohio rate increase

Electric · Ohio · Investor-owned utility · part of The AES Corporation

Settlement pending

Last checked

AES Ohio has a pending increase of about +$2.43/month for a typical 1,000 kWh home starting January 1, 2027, if regulators approve the settlement.

Details and sources · Estimate for your home

Rate changes, newest first

Three-year distribution rate plan for 2027-2029

Multi-year rate plan · Electric

Settlement pending

Typical residential bill (1,000 kWh/month)

  • +$2.43/mostarting January 1, 2027 (+1.17%)AES Ohio's estimate for a 1,000 kWh residential customer under the July 2026 settlement, if approved. Changes for 2028 and 2029 were not stated.

Proposed amounts; regulators may change them.

Filed
November 10, 2025
Decision expected
December 2026
Requested effective
January 1, 2027
Requested increase
Not disclosed
Approved increase
Pending

AES Ohio filed a three-year plan under House Bill 15 setting distribution rates for 2027-2029. The Ohio Consumers' Counsel said the original proposal would raise residential delivery charges by more than $143 million over three years. An unopposed July 2026 settlement with a 9.5% ROE would add about $2.43/month for 1,000 kWh from January 2027, per AES; a PUCO order is expected by end of 2026.

Utility's stated reasons

  • grid strengthening and storm resilience, per AES Ohio
  • grid modernization and customer assistance programs
Sources (4) · Verified against regulator or utility filings

Last verified Oct 26, 2026

Default supply (SSO) price from June 2026

Fuel / purchased power · Electric

In effect

Typical residential bill

Not stated for a specific usage level. Any figures the sources give are in the summary below.

Filed
Not disclosed
Decision expected
—
Effective
June 1, 2026
Requested increase
Not disclosed
Approved increase
Not disclosed
Docket
Not disclosed

From June 1, 2026 AES Ohio's residential Price to Compare, the rate charged to customers on its default standard service offer supply, is 10.9 cents per kWh, set by two wholesale auctions and billed without markup. It affects only customers who have not chosen a retail supplier or community aggregation.

Utility's stated reasons

  • set by wholesale market-based auctions
Sources (1) · Based on news or utility announcements

Last verified Oct 26, 2026

2024 distribution rate case decided November 2025

Base rate case · Electric

Approved

Typical residential bill (1,000 kWh/month)

  • +9%date not disclosedAES Ohio: a 1,000 kWh residential bill on default (SSO) supply rises about 9%. No dollar figure given.
Filed
November 29, 2024
Decided
November 5, 2025
Effective
Not disclosed
Requested increase
$235 million
Approved increase
$167.9 million

On November 5, 2025 the PUCO accepted an unopposed settlement giving AES Ohio a $167.9 million annual distribution revenue increase (9.999% ROE), versus $235 million sought. AES said a 1,000 kWh default-supply residential bill rises about 9%. The settlement keeps the $9.75 customer charge, ends reconnection fees and adds shareholder-funded bill assistance.

Utility's stated reasons

  • distribution investments made from 2020 to 2024
  • safety, reliability and storm resilience, per AES Ohio
Sources (4) · Verified against regulator or utility filings

Last verified Oct 26, 2026

What it could mean for your bill

Sources state the impact for one typical home. Enter your own usage or bill for a rough estimate.

I know my
kWh/month

Enter a number to see a rough estimate for your home.

Who decides

Utility website: www.aes-ohio.com

Other utilities nearby

Last checked Oct 26, 2026. Spotted something out of date? Tell us.