Skip to content
UtilityRateWatch

Oncor Electric Delivery rate increase

Electric · Texas · Investor-owned utility · part of Sempra

In effect

Last checked

Oncor Electric Delivery's latest approved rate change took effect August 1, 2026: Surcharge to recover January-May 2026 interim-rate shortfall. See the details below for what the sources say about bill impacts.

Details and sources · Estimate for your home

Rate changes, newest first

Surcharge to recover January-May 2026 interim-rate shortfall

Interim rates · Electric

In effect

Typical residential bill

Not stated for a specific usage level. Any figures the sources give are in the summary below.

Filed
June 9, 2026
Decision expected
—
Effective
August 1, 2026
Requested increase
Not disclosed
Approved increase
Not disclosed
Docket
Not disclosed

Oncor's old rates served as interim rates from Jan 1, 2026 until its new rates started June 1. The interim-rate agreement lets Oncor surcharge the difference; it filed on June 9, 2026 and the surcharge took effect Aug 1, 2026 to collect about $212 million through year-end. Retail providers pass Oncor's delivery charges to households; no residential bill impact was published.

Utility's stated reasons

  • catch-up for new rates not billed from Jan 1 to Jun 1, 2026
Sources (2) · Verified against regulator or utility filings

Last verified Sep 29, 2026

2025 comprehensive base rate review (PUCT Docket 58306)

Base rate case · Electric

In effect

Typical residential bill (1,000 kWh/month)

  • +3%starting June 1, 2026Oncor estimate of about 3% on a total residential bill at 1,000 kWh, assuming an average retail price of $0.15/kWh. As filed, the request would have added about $7/month (about 4.7%).
Filed
June 26, 2025
Decided
April 17, 2026
Effective
June 1, 2026
Requested increase
$834 million
Approved increase
$560 million
Docket
58306

Oncor is a wires-only utility in Texas's retail-choice market: households pay its delivery charges through their retail electric provider. It sought about $834M, mostly for storm costs, inflation and financing needs. On Apr 17, 2026 the PUCT approved an unopposed settlement for about $560M (8.7%) at a 9.75% ROE, with new rates from June 1, 2026 (about 3% on a 1,000-kWh bill).

Utility's stated reasons

  • recovering past storm costs and raising the storm reserve
  • inflation, insurance and interest-rate increases since 2021
  • supporting credit quality for a record capital plan
Sources (4) · Verified against regulator or utility filings

Last verified Sep 29, 2026

What it could mean for your bill

Sources state the impact for one typical home. Enter your own usage or bill for a rough estimate.

For: 2025 comprehensive base rate review (PUCT Docket 58306) (in effect)

I know my
kWh/month

Enter a number to see a rough estimate for your home.

Who decides

Utility website: www.oncor.com

Other utilities nearby

Last checked Oct 2, 2026. Spotted something out of date? Tell us.