Skip to content
UtilityRateWatch

CenterPoint Energy Houston Electric rate increase

Electric · Texas · Investor-owned utility · part of CenterPoint Energy, Inc.

Settlement pending

Last checked

CenterPoint Energy Houston Electric has a pending decrease of about −$2.00/month for a typical 1,000 kWh home starting 2027, if regulators approve the settlement.

Details and sources · Estimate for your home

Rate changes, newest first

Removing emergency generation (TEEEF) costs from rates

Rider · Electric

Settlement pending

Typical residential bill (1,000 kWh/month)

  • −$2.00/mostarting 2027CenterPoint's April 2025 estimate: bills about $2/month lower by 2027 for a 1,000-kWh customer. Interim residential TEEEF rider rate of $0.000742/kWh applies from Aug 15, 2026 pending a final order; the prior rate was not confirmed.

Proposed amounts; regulators may change them.

Filed
April 18, 2025
Decision expected
Not disclosed
Requested effective
August 15, 2026
Requested increase
Not disclosed
Approved increase
Pending
Docket
57980

CenterPoint proposed sending 15 large leased emergency generation units (TEEEF) to the San Antonio area for ERCOT and taking their cost out of Houston delivery rates. A June 2026 stipulation also removes 5 medium units and would cut the revenue requirement by $112 million if the PUCT approves; interim lower rates began Aug 15, 2026. Retail providers pass these charges to households.

Utility's stated reasons

  • 15 large leased emergency generation units released to ERCOT for San Antonio
  • 5 medium units removed from the fleet
Sources (3) · Verified against regulator or utility filings

Last verified Sep 29, 2026

System restoration charge for Hurricane Beryl and later storms (SRC III)

Rider · Electric

In effect

Typical residential bill (1,000 kWh/month)

  • Amount not disclosedstarting February 26, 2026Residential SRC III charge per CenterPoint's delivery tariff (schedule effective 02/26/26). New non-bypassable charge; no dollar bill impact was published.
Filed
June 20, 2025
Decided
October 23, 2025
Effective
February 26, 2026
Requested increase
Not disclosed
Approved increase
Not disclosed
Docket
58252

CenterPoint asked the PUCT to approve about $1.3B of Hurricane Beryl and later storm restoration costs. A settlement, approved with small changes in October 2025, allowed about $1.1B of distribution costs to be securitized. $1.193B of bonds were issued in February 2026 and are repaid through a non-bypassable charge on delivery bills that retail providers pass to households.

Utility's stated reasons

  • restoration after Hurricane Beryl, Hurricane Francine and Winter Storm Enzo
  • spreading storm costs over years through low-cost bonds
Sources (4) · Verified against regulator or utility filings

Last verified Sep 29, 2026

System restoration charge for May 2024 storms (SRC II)

Rider · Electric

In effect

Typical residential bill (1,000 kWh/month)

  • Amount not discloseddate not disclosedCurrent residential SRC II charge per CenterPoint's delivery tariff (sheet revision effective 9/1/26); the original start date of the charge was not confirmed.
Filed
January 24, 2025
Decided
June 5, 2025
Effective
Not disclosed
Requested increase
Not disclosed
Approved increase
Not disclosed
Docket
57559

CenterPoint sought PUCT approval of about $502M in restoration costs from the May 2024 storms. A settlement approved in April 2025 allowed $396M of distribution costs plus carrying costs, and a June 5, 2025 financing order let them be securitized through bonds of up to about $401.5M. The bonds are repaid via a non-bypassable delivery charge passed through retail providers.

Utility's stated reasons

  • restoration after the May 2024 severe windstorms and tornadoes
Sources (3) · Verified against regulator or utility filings

Last verified Sep 29, 2026

2024 Houston Electric base rate case (settled with a revenue decrease)

Base rate case · Electric

In effect

Typical residential bill (1,000 kWh/month)

  • −$0.82/mostarting April 28, 2025CenterPoint's settlement estimate for residential bills (about $0.82/month lower); the same release also cites an average decrease of about $1/month.
Filed
March 6, 2024
Decided
March 13, 2025
Effective
April 28, 2025
Requested increase
$60 million
Approved change
−$47 million
Docket
56211

Houston Electric filed in March 2024 seeking roughly $60M more a year, paused the case after Hurricane Beryl, and then settled. The PUCT approved the settlement on Mar 13, 2025: annual revenues fall by about $47M at a 9.65% ROE, with new retail delivery rates from Apr 28, 2025. CenterPoint's charges reach households through their retail electric provider.

Utility's stated reasons

  • about $8 billion of grid investment since the 2019 rate case
  • customer growth
  • system safety and reliability
Sources (5) · Verified against regulator or utility filings

Last verified Sep 29, 2026

What it could mean for your bill

Sources state the impact for one typical home. Enter your own usage or bill for a rough estimate.

I know my
kWh/month

Enter a number to see a rough estimate for your home.

Who decides

Utility website: www.centerpointenergy.com

Other utilities nearby

Last checked Oct 2, 2026. Spotted something out of date? Tell us.