Skip to content
UtilityRateWatch

Xcel Energy Texas and New Mexico rate increase

Electric · Texas, New Mexico · Investor-owned utility · part of Xcel Energy Inc.

Settlement pending

Last checked

Xcel Energy Texas and New Mexico has a request pending with regulators: Xcel Energy (SPS) 2025 New Mexico electric rate case, seeking $168 million. See the details below for what the sources say about bill impacts.

Details and sources

Rate changes, newest first

Xcel Energy (SPS) 2025 New Mexico electric rate case

Base rate case · New Mexico · Electric

Settlement pending

Typical residential bill

Not stated for a specific usage level. Any figures the sources give are in the summary below.

Filed
November 20, 2025
Decision expected
2026
Requested effective
December 2026
Requested increase
$168 million
Approved increase
Pending
Docket
25-00079-UT

SPS filed in November 2025 for a $175.4 million New Mexico base-rate increase (16.7% of total revenue), later updated to $168 million, with a 10.5% return on equity. A June 2026 non-unanimous settlement backed by the state Department of Justice would allow $90 million and a 9.5% return; PRC staff opposes parts of it. SPS expects a decision in late 2026 and new rates in December 2026.

Utility's stated reasons

  • Capital investment, including new solar and battery projects
  • More costs shifted to NM retail as 100 MW of wholesale load ends
  • Higher operating, depreciation and amortization costs
  • Utility sought a 10.5% return on equity
Sources (4) · Verified against regulator or utility filings

Last verified Oct 5, 2026

Xcel Energy (SPS) Texas generation cost recovery rider for Plant X and Cunningham 1 solar

Rider · Texas · Electric

In effect

Typical residential bill

Not stated for a specific usage level. Any figures the sources give are in the summary below.

Filed
December 18, 2025
Decided
July 9, 2026
Effective
April 1, 2026
Requested increase
$26.43 million
Approved increase
$26.43 million
Docket
59132

A new Texas rider recovers SPS's investment in the Plant X and Cunningham 1 solar plants, which began service April 1, 2026, ahead of the next base rate case. The PUCT approved a unanimous settlement in July 2026 for $26.4 million a year, the amount requested; residential customers pay $0.003117 per kWh for usage from April 1, 2026, first on an interim basis.

Utility's stated reasons

  • Recover investment in Plant X and Cunningham 1 solar plants
  • Texas rule allows recovery between base rate cases
Sources (3) · Verified against regulator or utility filings

Last verified Oct 5, 2026

Who decides

Utility website: www.xcelenergy.com

Other utilities nearby

Last checked Oct 5, 2026. Spotted something out of date? Tell us.