Skip to content
UtilityRateWatch

Rocky Mountain Power rate increase

Electric · Utah, Wyoming, Idaho · Investor-owned utility · part of Berkshire Hathaway Energy

Proposed

Last checked

In Wyoming, Rocky Mountain Power has a request pending with regulators: 2026 general rate case (Wyoming), seeking $70.5 million. See the details below for what the sources say about bill impacts.

Details and sources · Estimate for your home

Rate changes, newest first

2026 general rate case (Wyoming)

Base rate case · Wyoming · Electric

Proposed

Typical residential bill

Not stated for a specific usage level. Any figures the sources give are in the summary below.

Filed
May 12, 2026
Decision expected
Not disclosed
Requested effective
March 15, 2027
Requested increase
$70.5 million
Approved increase
Pending
Docket
20000-710-ER-26

Rocky Mountain Power asked for $70.5 million a year (8.8%) in two steps: $68.3 million from March 15, 2027 and $2.2 million from April 1, 2027, tied to the planned sale of its Washington service area. It cites new capital projects, higher power and operating costs, and a wildfire self-insurance fund. Residential rates would rise 8.5%. Public comment hearings were set for Sept. 24 and 28, 2026.

Utility's stated reasons

  • new capital investments
  • higher net power costs and operating expenses
  • $10 million for a wildfire liability self-insurance reserve fund
Sources (4) · Verified against regulator or utility filings

Last verified Sep 29, 2026

2026 settlement of rate case appeals (Utah)

Base rate case · Utah · Electric

In effect

Typical residential bill

Not stated for a specific usage level. Any figures the sources give are in the summary below.

Filed
June 30, 2026
Decided
July 2026
Effective
August 10, 2026
Requested increase
$93 million
Approved increase
$93 million
Docket
Not disclosed

To end its Utah Supreme Court appeals of the 2025 rate order and related power-cost rulings, Rocky Mountain Power agreed to a $93 million (4.2%) general rate increase, about $3.44 a month for an average home per the company. It commits to $2 billion of Utah investment and no new rate case taking effect before 2029. Regulators approved it in July 2026; rates took effect Aug. 10, 2026.

Utility's stated reasons

  • resolving the utility's court appeals of the 2025 rate order
  • about $2 billion of planned Utah infrastructure investment through 2028
Sources (3) · Verified against regulator or utility filings

Last verified Sep 29, 2026

2026 Energy Balancing Account rate decrease (Utah)

Fuel / purchased power · Utah · Electric

In effect

Typical residential bill

Not stated for a specific usage level. Any figures the sources give are in the summary below.

Filed
May 2026
Decided
June 2026
Effective
July 1, 2026
Requested change
−$375 million
Approved increase
Not disclosed
Docket
Not disclosed

Rocky Mountain Power's annual Energy Balancing Account filing for 2025 power costs cut Utah rates by $375 million (12.5%) on an interim basis from July 1, 2026, with regulators approving the interim change in June. The company said energy charges drop an average 10.6%, lowering a typical home bill by about $11 a month. Final review of the costs continues.

Utility's stated reasons

  • annual true-up of 2025 net power costs
Sources (3) · Verified against regulator or utility filings

Last verified Sep 29, 2026

2026 energy cost adjustment decrease (Wyoming)

Fuel / purchased power · Wyoming · Electric

In effect

Typical residential bill (700 kWh/month)

  • −$4.50/mostarting July 1, 2026Approximate decrease at 700 kWh given by a company spokesman to Cowboy State Daily; interim rates
Filed
April 15, 2026
Decided
June 2026
Effective
July 1, 2026
Requested change
−$51.1 million
Approved increase
Not disclosed
Docket
20000-707-EM-26

Rocky Mountain Power's annual power-cost true-up for 2025 lowered Wyoming rates by about $51 million (6%) on an interim basis from July 1, 2026, subject to further review. The PSC notice lists a 4.3% cut for residential customers, and the company put the saving at about $4.50 a month for a home using 700 kWh.

Utility's stated reasons

  • true-up of 2025 net power costs
  • lower purchased power and natural gas expenses
Sources (3) · Verified against regulator or utility filings

Last verified Sep 29, 2026

2024 general rate case (Wyoming)

Base rate case · Wyoming · Electric

In effect

Typical residential bill (700 kWh/month)

  • +$14.00/mostarting June 1, 2025 (+14.5%)Computed from the settlement's Schedule 2 bill comparison ($97 present, $111 proposed at 700 kWh); excludes some riders

Typical bill before the change: $97.00/month

Filed
August 2, 2024
Decided
April 15, 2025
Effective
June 1, 2025
Requested increase
$123.5 million
Approved increase
$85.5 million
Docket
20000-671-ER-24

Rocky Mountain Power sought $123.5 million (14.7%) for transmission and wind investments and higher wildfire-driven insurance costs. The PSC approved a settlement with the Consumer Advocate and large industrial customers for $85.5 million (10.2%) with a 9.5% ROE, effective June 1, 2025. The settlement's bill table shows a 700 kWh home going from $97 to $111 a month.

Utility's stated reasons

  • transmission and wind generation investments
  • higher liability insurance costs tied to wildfire risk
  • changes to the energy cost adjustment mechanism
Sources (3) · Verified against regulator or utility filings

Last verified Sep 29, 2026

2024 general rate case (Utah)

Base rate case · Utah · Electric

In effect

Typical residential bill (700 kWh/month)

  • +$4.31/mostarting April 25, 2025 (+4.7%)Average single-family residential customer, as reported from the PSC order
Filed
June 2024
Decided
April 25, 2025
Effective
April 25, 2025
Requested increase
$330 million
Approved increase
$87 million
Docket
24-035-04

Rocky Mountain Power's request was revised to $330 million (14.0%), citing power costs, transmission and wind projects, and liability insurance. The PSC approved $87 million (3.7%), rejecting most insurance costs and costs tied to Oregon wildfires and other states' policies; a 700 kWh single-family home paid $4.31 (4.7%) more from April 25, 2025. A later fix added $7 million.

Utility's stated reasons

  • higher net power costs
  • transmission and wind generation investments
  • higher wildfire liability insurance premiums
Sources (2) · Verified against regulator or utility filings

Last verified Sep 29, 2026

2024 general rate case (Idaho)

Base rate case · Idaho · Electric

In effect

Typical residential bill

Not stated for a specific usage level. Any figures the sources give are in the summary below.

Filed
May 2024
Decided
January 2025
Effective
February 1, 2025
Requested increase
$92 million
Approved increase
$58 million
Docket
PAC-E-24-04

Rocky Mountain Power asked for $92 million over two years ($66 million in 2025 and $26 million in 2026). The IPUC approved a settlement for a $58 million (16.8%) base-rate increase with no 2026 step and no new rate case before 2027; with an offsetting cut to power-cost recovery, the net increase was about 7.4%, effective Feb. 1, 2025.

Utility's stated reasons

  • higher net power costs
  • transmission and wind generation investments
  • higher liability insurance premiums
Sources (2) · Verified against regulator or utility filings

Last verified Sep 29, 2026

What it could mean for your bill

Sources state the impact for one typical home. Enter your own usage or bill for a rough estimate.

I know my
kWh/month

Enter a number to see a rough estimate for your home.

Who decides

Utility website: www.rockymountainpower.net

Other utilities nearby

Last checked Oct 2, 2026. Spotted something out of date? Tell us.