Skip to content
UtilityRateWatch

Idaho Power rate increase

Electric · Idaho, Oregon · Investor-owned utility · part of IDACORP, Inc.

In effect

Last checked

Idaho Power's latest approved rate change took effect January 1, 2026: 2025 general rate case (Idaho). See the details below for what the sources say about bill impacts.

Details and sources · Estimate for your home

Rate changes, newest first

2026 power cost and fixed cost adjustments (Idaho)

Fuel / purchased power · Idaho · Electric

In effect

Typical residential bill (900 kWh/month)

  • +$3.64/mostarting June 1, 2026 (+3.15%)Combined power cost adjustment and fixed cost adjustment impact for a typical residential customer, per Idaho Power
Filed
April 15, 2026
Decided
May 2026
Effective
June 1, 2026
Requested increase
$56.67 million
Approved increase
Not disclosed
Docket
IPC-E-26-10

Idaho Power's annual power cost adjustment raised Idaho rates from June 1, 2026, mainly because lower hydroelectric output was forecast; the IPUC approved a $51.3 million PCA increase in May 2026. With a separate fixed cost adjustment increase of about $5.1 million, a typical home using 900 kWh pays about $3.64 (3.15%) more a month.

Utility's stated reasons

  • lower forecast hydroelectric generation
  • annual true-up of fixed-cost recovery per customer
Sources (4) · Verified against regulator or utility filings

Last verified Sep 29, 2026

2025 general rate case (Idaho)

Base rate case · Idaho · Electric

In effect

Typical residential bill

Not stated for a specific usage level. Any figures the sources give are in the summary below.

Filed
May 30, 2025
Decided
December 2025
Effective
January 1, 2026
Requested increase
$199.1 million
Approved increase
$110 million
Docket
IPC-E-25-16

Idaho Power asked for $199.1 million (13.09%) for generation and storage, grid upgrades, wildfire resilience and labor, saying a 900 kWh home would pay about $21.66 more a month. The IPUC approved a settlement for about $110 million (7.48%, including a $13.1 million power-cost increase) with a 9.6% ROE, effective Jan. 1, 2026.

Utility's stated reasons

  • generation and battery storage investments
  • power line and substation upgrades
  • wildfire resilience
  • hiring and retaining workers
Sources (2) · Verified against regulator or utility filings

Last verified Sep 29, 2026

2025 power cost adjustment decrease (Idaho)

Fuel / purchased power · Idaho · Electric

In effect

Typical residential bill (950 kWh/month)

  • −$5.79/mostarting June 1, 2025 (−4.8%)PCA-only impact for the average residential customer as filed; the IPUC approved the $94.8 million decrease
Filed
April 15, 2025
Decided
May 2025
Effective
June 1, 2025
Requested change
−$94.78 million
Approved change
−$94.8 million
Docket
IPC-E-25-20

Idaho Power's 2025 power cost adjustment cut Idaho rates by $94.8 million from June 1, 2025, mainly because recovery of 2023 deferred power costs had ended. As filed, the PCA alone lowered a typical 950 kWh home bill by $5.79 a month; with the fixed cost adjustment and a Hells Canyon relicensing request, the filed net change was about -$9.97 (-8.26%).

Utility's stated reasons

  • completed recovery of 2023 deferred power costs
Sources (2) · Verified against regulator or utility filings

Last verified Sep 29, 2026

What it could mean for your bill

Sources state the impact for one typical home. Enter your own usage or bill for a rough estimate.

I know my
kWh/month

Enter a number to see a rough estimate for your home.

Who decides

Utility website: www.idahopower.com

Other utilities nearby

Last checked Oct 2, 2026. Spotted something out of date? Tell us.