Skip to content
UtilityRateWatch

Portland General Electric rate increase

Electric · Oregon · Investor-owned utility

Proposed

Last checked

Portland General Electric has a pending increase of about +$8.33/month for a typical 780 kWh home starting July 1, 2027, if regulators approve the request.

Details and sources · Estimate for your home

Rate changes, newest first

PGE 2027 general rate case (UE 473)

Base rate case · Electric

Proposed

Typical residential bill (780 kWh/month)

  • +$8.33/mostarting July 1, 2027 (+3.9%)As filed by PGE; subject to change in the Oregon PUC review.

Proposed amounts; regulators may change them.

Filed
August 4, 2026
Decision expected
Not disclosed
Requested effective
July 1, 2027
Requested increase
Not disclosed
Approved increase
Pending
Docket
UE 473

PGE asked Oregon regulators for an overall 4.8% increase, or 3.9% for households, to fund grid, transmission and meter work, with new rates proposed for July 2027. PGE says a separate power cost update should cut prices about 2.4% in January 2027. The Oregon Citizens' Utility Board said rates are already unaffordable for many customers (OPB).

Utility's stated reasons

  • Grid and substation upgrades, incl. West Side Upgrade Project
  • Transmission rebuilds to reduce wildfire risk
  • Replacing about 600,000 advanced customer meters
Sources (5) · Verified against regulator or utility filings

Last verified Oct 2, 2026

Data center rate class (Schedule 96) lowers household rates

Other · Electric

In effect

Typical residential bill (780 kWh/month)

  • −$1.91/mostarting July 8, 2026 (−1.3%)Average residential decrease from shifting costs to the new data center rate class.
Filed
March 11, 2025
Decided
May 7, 2026
Effective
July 8, 2026
Requested increase
Not disclosed
Approved increase
Not disclosed
Docket
UM 2377

Under Oregon's 2025 POWER Act, regulators created a separate rate class for PGE's large data centers, raising their rates about 29% and lowering other customers' rates. Households saw an average 1.3% cut starting July 8, 2026. The Oregon Citizens' Utility Board said the size of the data center increase showed they had been underpaying (OPB).

Utility's stated reasons

  • POWER Act (HB 3546) requires data centers to pay their own costs
  • New Schedule 96 rate class for large data center loads
Sources (4) · Verified against regulator or utility filings

Last verified Oct 2, 2026

2026 power cost update and other changes effective April 1, 2026

Fuel / purchased power · Electric

In effect

Typical residential bill

Not stated for a specific usage level. Any figures the sources give are in the summary below.

Filed
April 1, 2025
Decided
November 5, 2025
Effective
April 1, 2026
Requested increase
Not disclosed
Approved increase
Not disclosed
Docket
UE 452

Regulators adopted a settlement on PGE's 2026 power cost forecast that trimmed about $37.6 million from the company's initial estimate. Combined with storm cost recovery (UE 458), a distribution investment mechanism (UE 459) and other filings, the typical household bill rose about $7.97 a month, or 5%, on April 1, 2026, after being held back over winter under Oregon's FAIR Act.

Utility's stated reasons

  • Higher forecast fuel and purchased power costs
  • Recovery of approved storm costs
  • Distribution system investments
  • Larger low-income energy assistance funding
Sources (4) · Verified against regulator or utility filings

Last verified Oct 2, 2026

PGE 2025 general rate case (UE 435)

Base rate case · Electric

In effect

Typical residential bill

Not stated for a specific usage level. Any figures the sources give are in the summary below.

Filed
Not disclosed
Decided
December 20, 2024
Effective
January 1, 2025
Requested increase
$208 million
Approved increase
$100 million
Docket
UE 435

Regulators approved about a $100 million increase (3.3% in general rates) versus PGE's requested 7.4%, with a 9.34% return on equity. Combined with power cost and other year-end changes, the regulator expected residential rates to rise about 5.5% on January 1, 2025.

Utility's stated reasons

  • Capital investment in grid infrastructure
  • Regulators limited expense growth and lowered return on equity
Sources (2) · Verified against regulator or utility filings

Last verified Oct 2, 2026

What it could mean for your bill

Sources state the impact for one typical home. Enter your own usage or bill for a rough estimate.

I know my
kWh/month

Enter a number to see a rough estimate for your home.

Who decides

Utility website: portlandgeneral.com

Other utilities nearby

Last checked Oct 2, 2026. Spotted something out of date? Tell us.