Skip to content
UtilityRateWatch

Pacific Power rate increase

Electric · Oregon, Washington, California · Investor-owned utility · part of Berkshire Hathaway Energy

Proposed

Last checked

In Oregon, Pacific Power has a pending increase of about +$15.61/month for a typical 900 kWh home starting April 2027, if regulators approve the request.

Details and sources · Estimate for your home

Rate changes, newest first

Oregon general rate case: $170.7M (8.6%) increase requested for 2027

Base rate case · Oregon · Electric

Proposed

Typical residential bill (900 kWh/month)

  • +$15.61/mostarting April 2027 (+10.7%)Company's total rate case change for a single-family home, as proposed. Interim step was denied, so the request is for April 5, 2027. Excludes a proposed $0.82/month step tied to the Washington service-area sale and expected power cost decreases.

Typical bill before the change: $145.95/month

Proposed amounts; regulators may change them.

Filed
May 5, 2026
Decision expected
March 2027
Requested effective
April 2027
Requested increase
$170.7 million
Approved increase
Pending
Docket
UE 470

Pacific Power asked Oregon regulators for a $170.7 million (8.6%) increase, including a higher residential basic charge ($14 to $17 for single-family homes). The PUC denied a 2.8% interim increase in May 2026, and expects to decide the full case around March 2027. The company says expected power cost decreases would largely offset the increase.

Utility's stated reasons

  • Capital investment, including transmission lines
  • Rising wildfire liability insurance premiums
  • Higher operating and equipment costs
  • Return on equity raised to 9.70% from 9.50%
Sources (5) · Verified against regulator or utility filings

Last verified Oct 2, 2026

Oregon 2027 power cost update (TAM): $55.7M decrease proposed

Fuel / purchased power · Oregon · Electric

Settlement pending

Typical residential bill (900 kWh/month)

  • −$3.42/mostarting January 1, 2027 (−2.28%)Company's initial April 2026 filing, single-family home. Final TAM rates are set in November; a stipulation filed in September 2026 may change the figure.

Typical bill before the change: $149.98/month

Proposed amounts; regulators may change them.

Filed
April 1, 2026
Decision expected
November 2026
Requested effective
January 1, 2027
Requested change
−$55.7 million
Approved increase
Pending
Docket
UE 469

Pacific Power's annual Oregon power cost filing initially proposed a $55.7 million (2.8%) rate decrease for 2027, about $3.42 less per month for a typical single-family home. Parties filed a settlement in September 2026 that awaits a PUC decision; final rates are set in November.

Utility's stated reasons

  • Annual forecast of 2027 net power costs
  • Fuel, purchased power and wholesale sales forecast
Sources (3) · Verified against regulator or utility filings

Last verified Oct 2, 2026

California wildfire cost recovery: $340.5M sought for Slater and McKinney fires

Other · California · Electric

Proposed

Typical residential bill

Not stated for a specific usage level. Any figures the sources give are in the summary below.

Filed
February 27, 2026
Decision expected
Not disclosed
Requested effective
Not disclosed
Requested increase
Not disclosed
Approved increase
Pending

Pacific Power asked the CPUC to let it recover about $340.5 million from California customers for claims and legal costs from the Slater and McKinney fires, with costs to be securitized or spread over at least five years. The assigned commissioner said this would raise rates about 19% assuming 15-year securitization. The company must show it acted prudently.

Utility's stated reasons

  • Third-party claims from the 2020 Slater Fire
  • Third-party claims from the 2022 McKinney Fire
  • Legal expenses to resolve wildfire claims
Sources (4) · Verified against regulator or utility filings

Last verified Oct 2, 2026

Washington power-cost rate case removing coal from rates, in effect January 2026

Fuel / purchased power · Washington · Electric

In effect

Typical residential bill (1,200 kWh/month)

  • +$1.10/mostarting January 1, 2026Average residential household, as reported by the Yakima Herald after the UTC decision.
Filed
April 1, 2025
Decided
December 22, 2025
Effective
January 1, 2026
Requested increase
$33.9 million
Approved increase
Not disclosed
Docket
UE-250224

Pacific Power filed for about $33.9 million (7.9%) to reset Washington power costs and drop coal from rates. In December 2025 the UTC approved a new cost-allocation method and the power cost changes, with conditions; the order found this kept the increase near $12 million rather than $80 million. The Yakima Herald reported a $1.10 monthly rise for a typical home from January 2026.

Utility's stated reasons

  • Removal of coal plants from Washington rates
  • Reset of baseline net power costs
  • New 2026 Protocol cost allocation among states
Sources (4) · Verified against regulator or utility filings

Last verified Oct 2, 2026

What it could mean for your bill

Sources state the impact for one typical home. Enter your own usage or bill for a rough estimate.

I know my
kWh/month

Enter a number to see a rough estimate for your home.

Who decides

  • Public Utility Commission of Oregon (Oregon) · Search dockets
  • Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Washington) · Search dockets
  • California Public Utilities Commission (California) · Search dockets

Utility website: www.pacificpower.net

Other utilities nearby

Last checked Oct 2, 2026. Spotted something out of date? Tell us.