Skip to content
UtilityRateWatch

Puget Sound Energy rate increase

Electric · Washington · Investor-owned utility

Proposed

Last checked

Puget Sound Energy has a pending increase of about +$29.57/month for a typical 851 kWh home starting 2027, if regulators approve the request.

Further steps: +$6.89/month from 2028, then +$16.76/month from 2029.

Details and sources · Estimate for your home

Rate changes, newest first

2026 general rate case: three-year plan for 2027-2029

Multi-year rate plan · Electric

Proposed

Typical residential bill (851 kWh/month)

  • +$29.57/mostarting 2027Rate Year 1, from PSE's filing summary (Addendum E); PSE's public statements cite about $28 at 800 kWh
  • +$6.89/mothen from 2028Rate Year 2, from PSE's filing summary (Addendum E)
  • +$16.76/mothen from 2029Rate Year 3, from PSE's filing summary (Addendum E)

Combined: +$53.22/mo

Proposed amounts; regulators may change them.

Filed
February 27, 2026
Decision expected
January 27, 2027
Requested effective
2027
Requested increase
$625.34 million
Approved increase
Pending
Docket
UE-260005

PSE asked for electric revenue increases of $625,340,657 (15.15%) in 2027, $178,702,222 (3.74%) in 2028 and $431,853,006 (8.70%) in 2029, citing new renewable projects, state clean energy rules and grid hardening. The first-year figure is shown here. Regulators suspended the rates for review; evidentiary hearings are set for November 2026.

Utility's stated reasons

  • new utility-scale renewable and storage projects
  • clean energy law compliance
  • grid hardening against storms and wildfire
  • rising equipment and operating costs
Sources (5) · Verified against regulator or utility filings

Last verified Sep 29, 2026

Conservation program rider increase (Schedule 120)

Rider · Electric

In effect

Typical residential bill (800 kWh/month)

  • +$1.24/mostarting May 1, 2026 (+0.78%)
Filed
February 27, 2026
Decided
May 5, 2026
Effective
May 1, 2026
Requested increase
$35.3 million
Approved increase
Not disclosed
Docket
UE-260128

PSE raised the rider that funds its electric energy-efficiency programs by $35.3 million a year (1.18%). The UTC let the change take effect through its no-action agenda after an April 30, 2026 open meeting, and the docket is closed.

Utility's stated reasons

  • energy efficiency program costs
Sources (2) · Verified against regulator or utility filings

Last verified Sep 29, 2026

January 2026 power cost and climate-law cost update

Fuel / purchased power · Electric

In effect

Typical residential bill (800 kWh/month)

  • +$16.84/mostarting January 1, 2026 (+12.18%)net of five approved electric dockets: UE-250733, UE-250747, UE-250880, UE-250901, UE-250930
Filed
October 1, 2025
Decided
December 23, 2025
Effective
January 1, 2026
Requested increase
Not disclosed
Approved increase
Not disclosed
Docket
UE-250747

On Dec. 23, 2025 the UTC approved several PSE filings effective Jan. 1, 2026. The largest, 2026 power costs (UE-250747), added $28.04 a month; removing Colstrip costs and crediting no-cost emission allowance revenue offset part of it, for a net of about $16.84 a month.

Utility's stated reasons

  • Climate Commitment Act compliance costs
  • clean energy resources
  • reliability and safety investments
  • low-income bill assistance
Sources (2) · Verified against regulator or utility filings

Last verified Sep 29, 2026

2024 general rate case: two-year plan (2025-2026)

Multi-year rate plan · Electric

In effect

Typical residential bill (800 kWh/month)

  • +$13.08/mostarting January 2025 (+12%)regulator says the typical bill becomes $122.16
  • +$7.67/mothen from January 2026 (+6.3%)regulator says the typical bill becomes $129.83

Combined: +$20.75/mo

Filed
2024
Decided
January 15, 2025
Effective
January 2025
Requested increase
Not disclosed
Approved increase
$326.6 million
Docket
UE-240004

The UTC approved a two-year plan raising PSE electric revenue by $326.6 million (11.5%) in January 2025 and $203.3 million (6.4%) in January 2026; the first-year figure is shown. It raised allowed return on equity to 9.8%, then 9.9%, and rejected some requests, including separate cost trackers.

Sources (2) · Verified against regulator or utility filings

Last verified Sep 29, 2026

What it could mean for your bill

Sources state the impact for one typical home. Enter your own usage or bill for a rough estimate.

I know my
kWh/month

Enter a number to see a rough estimate for your home.

Who decides

  • Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Washington) · Search dockets

Utility website: www.pse.com

Last checked Oct 2, 2026. Spotted something out of date? Tell us.