Skip to content
UtilityRateWatch

Avista Utilities rate increase

Electric & gas · Washington, Idaho · Investor-owned utility

Proposed

Last checked

In Washington, Avista Utilities has a pending increase of about +$17.21/month for a typical 925 kWh home starting January 1, 2027, if regulators approve the request.

Details and sources · Estimate for your home

Rate changes, newest first

Avista proposes four-year Washington electric rate plan for 2027-2030

Multi-year rate plan · Washington · Electric

Proposed

Typical residential bill (925 kWh/month)

  • +$17.21/mostarting January 1, 2027 (+13.9%)Rate Year 1 as proposed; requested electric base revenue increase of $111.046 million (16.5%).
  • +4.7%then from January 1, 2028Rate Year 2 as proposed ($42.470 million). Avista did not state the dollar change for this year.
  • +3.5%then from January 1, 2029Rate Year 3 as proposed ($33.464 million). Dollar change not stated.
  • +2.8%then from January 1, 2030Rate Year 4 as proposed ($27.915 million). Avista says the bill would reach $157.94 in 2030, $33.71 above today's $124.23 (Public Counsel also cites +$33.71).

Typical bill before the change: $124.23/month

Proposed amounts; regulators may change them.

Filed
January 16, 2026
Decision expected
Not disclosed
Requested effective
January 1, 2027
Requested increase
$111.05 million
Approved increase
Pending
Docket
UE-260007

Avista asked Washington regulators for four annual electric base-rate increases starting January 2027, beginning with $111 million (16.5%) in the first year. Washington's Public Counsel argues customers could be spared as much as $626 million over four years and backs a lower return on equity than the 10.2% Avista requested. Hearings were held in September 2026.

Utility's stated reasons

  • Higher power supply costs to meet clean energy requirements
  • Grid, substation and aging hydro facility upgrades
  • Wildfire prevention and grid hardening
  • Climate Commitment Act and CETA compliance
Sources (5) · Verified against regulator or utility filings

Last verified Oct 2, 2026

Avista proposes four-year Washington natural gas rate plan for 2027-2030

Multi-year rate plan · Washington · Natural gas

Proposed

Typical residential bill (61 therms/month)

  • +$4.14/mostarting January 1, 2027 (+5%)Rate Year 1 as proposed; requested gas base revenue increase of $12.434 million (8.9%).
  • +2.5%then from January 1, 2028Rate Year 2 as proposed ($6.503 million). Dollar change not stated.
  • +2.2%then from January 1, 2029Rate Year 3 as proposed ($5.928 million). Dollar change not stated.
  • +1.1%then from January 1, 2030Rate Year 4 as proposed ($3.114 million). Avista says the bill would reach $100.46 in 2030, $9.40 above today's $91.06.

Typical bill before the change: $91.06/month

Proposed amounts; regulators may change them.

Filed
January 16, 2026
Decision expected
Not disclosed
Requested effective
January 1, 2027
Requested increase
$12.43 million
Approved increase
Pending
Docket
UG-260008

Alongside its electric plan, Avista asked Washington regulators for four yearly natural gas base-rate increases from January 2027, starting with $12.4 million (8.9%). The typical home bill would go from $91.06 to $100.46 by 2030 under the proposal. Public Counsel opposes most of the combined electric and gas increases.

Utility's stated reasons

  • Replacing aging natural gas pipe
  • Infrastructure and technology investments
  • Climate Commitment Act compliance
Sources (3) · Verified against regulator or utility filings

Last verified Oct 2, 2026

Idaho approves Avista power cost surcharge effective October 2026

Fuel / purchased power · Idaho · Electric

In effect

Typical residential bill (939 kWh/month)

  • +$4.31/mostarting October 1, 2026 (+3.6%)PCA alone; the old 0.301 cent/kWh rebate ends and a 0.157 cent/kWh surcharge begins. Separate FCA and ResEx filings bring Avista's combined estimate to +$7.76.

Typical bill before the change: $119.52/month

Filed
July 31, 2026
Decided
September 30, 2026
Effective
October 1, 2026
Requested increase
$14.6 million
Approved increase
$14.58 million

Idaho regulators approved Avista's annual power cost adjustment as filed, replacing last year's rebate with a surcharge from October 1, 2026, worth about $14.6 million a year. Commission staff flagged the Palouse Wind contract as costing about $13 million more than market power, and the commission ordered it reviewed in Avista's next rate case.

Utility's stated reasons

  • Expiration of the prior year's PCA rebate
  • Lower market sales revenue than assumed in base rates
  • Higher customer loads during peak months
Sources (3) · Verified against regulator or utility filings

Last verified Oct 2, 2026

Idaho approves two-step Avista electric rate increase (2025 and 2026)

Base rate case · Idaho · Electric

In effect

Typical residential bill (939 kWh/month)

  • +$6.95/mostarting September 1, 2025 (+6.7%)Bill rose to $111.25; baseline is $111.25 minus $6.95, both stated by the IPUC.
  • +$5.22/mothen from September 1, 2026 (+4.7%)Second step; bill rises to $116.47.

Combined: +$12.17/mo

Typical bill before the change: $104.30/month

Filed
November 25, 2024
Decided
August 29, 2025
Effective
September 1, 2025
Requested increase
Not disclosed
Approved increase
Not disclosed

Idaho regulators approved a settlement of Avista's electric rate case that raised base revenue by $19.5 million (6.3%) on September 1, 2025, and by another $14.7 million (4.5%) on September 1, 2026. The settlement set a 9.6% return on equity.

Sources (2) · Verified against regulator or utility filings

Last verified Oct 2, 2026

What it could mean for your bill

Sources state the impact for one typical home. Enter your own usage or bill for a rough estimate.

I know my
kWh/month

Enter a number to see a rough estimate for your home.

Who decides

  • Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Washington) · Search dockets
  • Idaho Public Utilities Commission (Idaho) · Search dockets

Utility website: www.myavista.com

Other utilities nearby

Last checked Oct 2, 2026. Spotted something out of date? Tell us.