Skip to content
UtilityRateWatch

Southern California Edison rate increase

Electric · California · Investor-owned utility · part of Edison International

In effect

Last checked

Southern California Edison's latest approved rate change took effect January 1, 2026: Thomas Fire and Montecito Debris Flow recovery bonds. See the details below for what the sources say about bill impacts.

Details and sources · Estimate for your home

Rate changes, newest first

Thomas Fire and Montecito Debris Flow recovery bonds

Rider · Electric

In effect

Typical residential bill (500 kWh/month)

  • +$1.10/modate not disclosed (+0.6%)SCE's estimate in its application notice, assuming 35-year bonds; CARE customers exempt
Filed
April 30, 2025
Decided
August 28, 2025
Effective
January 1, 2026
Requested increase
Not disclosed
Approved increase
Not disclosed

The CPUC approved a financing order letting SCE issue recovery bonds for about $1.629 billion of previously approved Thomas Fire and Montecito Debris Flow claims costs, which it estimated saves ratepayers about $606 million versus utility financing. The bond charge is not applied to CARE customers. SCE added $122 million to rates for these bonds on Jan. 1, 2026.

Utility's stated reasons

  • 2017 Thomas Fire and 2018 Montecito Debris Flow claims costs
  • lower financing cost than traditional utility financing
Sources (4) · Verified against regulator or utility filings

Last verified Sep 29, 2026

January 2026 rate change

Fuel / purchased power · Electric

In effect

Typical residential bill (500 kWh/month)

  • −$5.51/mostarting January 1, 2026 (−2.9%)typical residential customer, before the California Climate Credit; baseline reflects the Base Services Charge added Nov. 15, 2025

Typical bill before the change: $193.06/month

Filed
Not disclosed
Decision expected
—
Effective
January 1, 2026
Requested increase
Not disclosed
Approved increase
Not disclosed
Docket
Not disclosed

SCE's Jan. 1, 2026 change was a small net decrease. Lower generation rates from the 2026 fuel and power forecast (D.25-12-028) and a $151 million cut for Diablo Canyon costs outweighed increases of $476 million for 2026 funding approved in the 2025 rate case and $122 million for Thomas Fire and Montecito recovery bonds.

Utility's stated reasons

  • lower forecast generation costs
  • lower Diablo Canyon extended-operation costs
  • 2026 general rate case funding
  • Thomas Fire and Montecito recovery bonds
Sources (1) · Based on news or utility announcements

Last verified Sep 29, 2026

2025 general rate case (2025-2028)

Base rate case · Electric

In effect

Typical residential bill (500 kWh/month)

  • +$15.52/mostarting October 1, 2025 (+9.1%)CPUC estimate for a non-CARE customer (June 2025 bill as baseline); excludes recovery of the 2025 shortfall

Typical bill before the change: $171.17/month

Filed
May 12, 2023
Decided
September 18, 2025
Effective
October 1, 2025
Requested increase
$1.9 billion
Approved increase
$1.08 billion

The CPUC set SCE's 2025 base revenue requirement at $9.664 billion, up $1.082 billion (12.61%), versus the $1.901 billion (22.15%) increase SCE sought; 2025 figures are shown. The decision allows $41.78 billion for 2025-2028. Because it came late, the 2025 shortfall is collected over 24 months; SCE began the new rates Oct. 1, 2025.

Utility's stated reasons

  • wildfire risk reduction, including undergrounding and covered conductor
  • aging infrastructure replacement
  • grid upgrades for load growth and electrification
Sources (4) · Verified against regulator or utility filings

Last verified Sep 29, 2026

What it could mean for your bill

Sources state the impact for one typical home. Enter your own usage or bill for a rough estimate.

I know my
kWh/month

Enter a number to see a rough estimate for your home.

Who decides

Utility website: www.sce.com

Other utilities nearby

Last checked Oct 2, 2026. Spotted something out of date? Tell us.