Skip to content
UtilityRateWatch

San Diego Gas & Electric rate increase

Electric · California · Investor-owned utility · part of Sempra

Approved

Last checked

San Diego Gas & Electric's latest approved rate change: Recovery of 2019-2022 wildfire mitigation costs (GRC Track 2). See the details below for what the sources say about bill impacts.

Details and sources · Estimate for your home

Rate changes, newest first

Recovery of 2019-2022 wildfire mitigation costs (GRC Track 2)

Rider · Electric

Approved

Typical residential bill

Not stated for a specific usage level. Any figures the sources give are in the summary below.

Filed
Not disclosed
Decided
January 15, 2026
Effective
Not disclosed
Requested increase
Not disclosed
Approved increase
Not disclosed

In D.26-01-021 the CPUC approved $77.86 million of O&M and $945.533 million of capital from SDG&E's 2019-2022 wildfire mitigation work and disallowed or deferred the rest. Net of $289.9 million collected on an interim basis, the $177.458 million owed through 2025 is spread over three years; the CPUC estimated the average non-CARE bill rises $5.09 (2.94%) to $178.09 a month.

Utility's stated reasons

  • wildfire mitigation work required by state law
  • grid hardening and inspections done in 2019-2022
Sources (2) · Verified against regulator or utility filings

Last verified Sep 29, 2026

2026 fuel and purchased power forecast (ERRA)

Fuel / purchased power · Electric

Approved

Typical residential bill (400 kWh/month)

  • +$23.00/mostarting January 1, 2026 (+14.3%)CPUC approximation for a bundled non-CARE customer, ERRA portion only, including the California Climate Credit

Typical bill before the change: $163.00/month

Filed
May 15, 2025
Decided
December 4, 2025
Effective
January 1, 2026
Requested increase
Not disclosed
Approved increase
$701.8 million

The CPUC adopted SDG&E's 2026 fuel and purchased-power revenue requirement of $824.1 million, $701.8 million above the 2025 level, which had been lowered by investment tax credits and market benchmark changes. The CPUC projected this item alone raising bundled rates about 3.7 cents per kWh (10.1%), with rates to take effect Jan. 1, 2026.

Utility's stated reasons

  • 2026 fuel and purchased power cost forecast
  • 2025 amount was reduced by investment tax credits
Sources (2) · Verified against regulator or utility filings

Last verified Sep 29, 2026

2024 general rate case with 2025-2027 attrition years

Base rate case · Electric

In effect

Typical residential bill (400 kWh/month)

  • +$4.38/mostarting February 1, 2025 (+2.6%)CPUC estimate for the 2024 test year, non-CARE; excludes amortization of the 2024 under-collection

Typical bill before the change: $166.41/month

Filed
May 16, 2022
Decided
December 19, 2024
Effective
February 1, 2025
Requested increase
Not disclosed
Approved increase
Not disclosed

D.24-12-074 set SDG&E's 2024 revenue at $2.699 billion ($2.193 billion electric), a $188.6 million (7.5%) gas and electric increase and $308.3 million below the request, with new rates Feb. 1, 2025. Combined increases follow of $147.0 million (2025), $118.6 million (2026) and $121.7 million (2027). The 2024 shortfall from the late decision is collected over 18 months.

Utility's stated reasons

  • undergrounding and system hardening for wildfire risk
  • grid modernization and substation upgrades
Sources (3) · Verified against regulator or utility filings

Last verified Sep 29, 2026

What it could mean for your bill

Sources state the impact for one typical home. Enter your own usage or bill for a rough estimate.

I know my
kWh/month

Enter a number to see a rough estimate for your home.

Who decides

Utility website: www.sdge.com

Other utilities nearby

Last checked Oct 2, 2026. Spotted something out of date? Tell us.