Skip to content
UtilityRateWatch

Pacific Gas and Electric rate increase

Electric · California · Investor-owned utility · part of PG&E Corporation

Proposed

Last checked

Pacific Gas and Electric has a pending increase of about +$11.18/month for a typical 500 kWh home starting January 1, 2027, if regulators approve the request.

Further steps: +$6.88/month from 2028, then +$7.25/month from 2029, then +$7.77/month from 2030.

Details and sources · Estimate for your home

Rate changes, newest first

2027 general rate case (2027-2030)

Base rate case · Electric

Proposed

Typical residential bill (500 kWh/month)

  • +$11.18/mostarting January 1, 2027 (+5.2%)typical bundled non-CARE customer; baseline is the 2025 bill (rates as of March 1, 2025)
  • +$6.88/mothen from 2028 (+3%)computed from stated bills of $226.11 and $232.99
  • +$7.25/mothen from 2029 (+3.1%)computed from stated bills of $232.99 and $240.24
  • +$7.77/mothen from 2030 (+3.2%)computed from stated bills of $240.24 and $248.01

Combined: +$33.08/mo

Typical bill before the change: $214.93/month

Proposed amounts; regulators may change them.

Filed
May 15, 2025
Decision expected
May 2027
Requested effective
January 1, 2027
Requested increase
Not disclosed
Approved increase
Pending

PG&E asked for a $1.237 billion (8%) revenue increase in 2027, gas and electric combined, then further increases through 2030, for wildfire mitigation, new demand and reliability. It estimated a typical non-CARE electric bill up 5.2% in 2027 versus 2025. The CPUC's Public Advocates Office says bills could rise 16% in 2027 once other pending requests are counted. The case is ongoing.

Utility's stated reasons

  • wildfire risk reduction, including undergrounding
  • grid capacity for new homes, businesses, EVs and data centers
  • climate resilience and microgrids
  • reliability upgrades
Sources (5) · Verified against regulator or utility filings

Last verified Sep 29, 2026

March 2026 rate change: wildfire cost recovery ends, Base Services Charge begins

Other · Electric

In effect

Typical residential bill (500 kWh/month)

  • −$5.14/mostarting March 1, 2026 (−2.5%)typical bundled non-CARE customer; PG&E says net effects vary by customer

Typical bill before the change: $208.68/month

Filed
February 27, 2026
Decision expected
—
Effective
March 1, 2026
Requested increase
Not disclosed
Approved increase
Not disclosed
Docket
Advice Letter 7846-E

PG&E cut bundled electric rates on March 1, 2026. It said collection of 2021 and 2023 wildfire mitigation and catastrophic event costs ended, removing a net $499.5 million from rates. The same filing started the Base Services Charge, a fixed monthly charge adopted in D.24-05-028 that lowers per-kWh prices, so bill effects vary with usage.

Utility's stated reasons

  • end of 2021 and 2023 wildfire mitigation and catastrophic event cost recovery
  • Base Services Charge implementation
Sources (2) · Verified against regulator or utility filings

Last verified Sep 29, 2026

January 2026 annual electric true-up

Fuel / purchased power · Electric

In effect

Typical residential bill (500 kWh/month)

  • −$11.03/mostarting January 1, 2026 (−5%)typical bundled non-CARE customer, before the California Climate Credit

Typical bill before the change: $219.72/month

Filed
December 30, 2025
Decision expected
—
Effective
January 1, 2026
Requested increase
Not disclosed
Approved increase
Not disclosed
Docket
Advice Letter 7797-E

PG&E's annual true-up lowered its average bundled rate 5.7% on Jan. 1, 2026, driven mainly by the 2026 ERRA forecast decision. It also folded in other year-end decisions, including the 2026 cost of capital decision (D.25-12-043), which set PG&E's return on equity at 9.98% versus the 11.30% requested. PG&E's average rate for CCA and direct access customers rose 19.3%.

Utility's stated reasons

  • 2026 fuel and purchased power forecast (ERRA)
  • year-end consolidation of approved revenue changes
Sources (3) · Verified against regulator or utility filings

Last verified Sep 29, 2026

What it could mean for your bill

Sources state the impact for one typical home. Enter your own usage or bill for a rough estimate.

I know my
kWh/month

Enter a number to see a rough estimate for your home.

Who decides

Utility website: www.pge.com

Other utilities nearby

Last checked Oct 2, 2026. Spotted something out of date? Tell us.