Skip to content
UtilityRateWatch

BGE rate increase

Electric · Maryland · Investor-owned utility · part of Exelon Corporation

Proposed

Last checked

BGE has a pending increase of about +$8.00/month for a typical 851 kWh home, if regulators approve the request.

Details and sources · Estimate for your home

Rate changes, newest first

2026 electric base rate case (Case No. 9888)

Base rate case · Electric

Proposed

Typical residential bill (851 kWh/month)

  • +$8.00/modate not disclosed (+4%)BGE's estimate if granted in full, stated as about $8.00 or about 4% of the total monthly bill. BGE proposed rates effective 2026-08-01; the PSC suspended them for 180 days.

Proposed amounts; regulators may change them.

Filed
July 2, 2026
Decision expected
January 2027
Requested effective
August 1, 2026
Requested increase
$156.1 million
Approved increase
Pending

BGE filed on July 2, 2026 for a $156.1 million electric distribution rate increase based on a 10.4% return on equity, saying it needs the revenue to maintain its system and keep service safe and reliable. BGE estimates about $8 a month (about 4%) for an average residential customer using 851 kWh. The PSC suspended the proposed rates; a decision is expected in January 2027.

Utility's stated reasons

  • maintain the integrity of the electric system
  • safe and reliable service
Sources (2) · Verified against regulator or utility filings

Last verified Sep 29, 2026

Pilot multi-year plan 2023 reconciliation rider (Case No. 9645)

Rider · Electric

Partially approved

Typical residential bill (876 kWh/month)

  • +$0.72/mostarting February 2026Temporary rider, recovered from February 2026 through the end of 2027. The authorized amount is before an additional confidential reduction BGE agreed to.
Filed
April 24, 2024
Decided
December 22, 2025
Effective
February 2026
Requested increase
$78.94 million
Approved increase
$30.83 million

BGE asked to recover $152.28 million (electric and gas; $78.94 million electric) that it said it under-collected in 2023, the last year of its pilot multi-year plan. The PSC granted $77.2 million, of which $30,834,091 is electric, through a temporary distribution rider running from February 2026 to the end of 2027: about $0.72 a month for the average residential electric customer.

Utility's stated reasons

  • recover 2023 costs BGE says it under-collected in rates
Sources (3) · Verified against regulator or utility filings

Last verified Sep 29, 2026

2024-2026 multi-year rate plan (Case No. 9692)

Multi-year rate plan · Electric

In effect

Typical residential bill

Not stated for a specific usage level. Any figures the sources give are in the summary below.

Filed
February 17, 2023
Decided
December 14, 2023
Effective
January 1, 2024
Requested increase
Not disclosed
Approved increase
$179.09 million

BGE's second multi-year plan set electric and gas distribution (delivery) rates for 2024, 2025 and 2026. The PSC authorized $408 million of the $602 million BGE requested for both services; the electric share totals $179.085 million over the three years. Per the order, the average residential electric bill rose $4.08 (3.01%) in 2024, $1.22 (0.87%) in 2025 and $0.34 (0.24%) in 2026.

Utility's stated reasons

  • 4kV conversion and cable replacement
  • grid resilience investments
  • distribution capacity expansion
Sources (3) · Verified against regulator or utility filings

Last verified Sep 29, 2026

What it could mean for your bill

Sources state the impact for one typical home. Enter your own usage or bill for a rough estimate.

I know my
kWh/month

Enter a number to see a rough estimate for your home.

Who decides

Utility website: www.bge.com

Other utilities nearby

Last checked Oct 2, 2026. Spotted something out of date? Tell us.